Research Guides: Biology: BIO 151 Written Assignments

Week 3 Written Assignment: Genetically Modified Food

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This series takes a pro-con approach to today’s social issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. It's the perfect resource when you have to take one side of a debate or have to write a persuasive essay.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays on today’s crucial issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. A great resource for overview and persuasive papers and speeches.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for more than 2,700 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The premier research platform to find and analyze scholarly research literature on Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

For more resources, please use the search options in the previous tab.

Genetically Modified Foods: Basics, Applications, and Controversy
Publication Date: 2015
Salah E. O. Mahgoub
Genetically Modified Organisms in Developing Countries
Publication Date: 2017
Ademola A. Adenle (Editor); E. Jane Morris (Editor); Denis J. Murphy (Editor)
Safety Assessment of Genetically Modified Foods
Publication Date: 2017
Kunlun Huang

Answer the following questions in a Word document, save the file to your computer, and then click the title link to submit it by the end of Week 3.

What is genetically modified (GM) food?
What are some health, environmental, and social concerns relative to GM food?
Do you consider GM food to be a blessing or a danger to the world? Give your reasons.
If a genetically modified organism that was created for food begins to cause environmental problems, who should be held accountable?

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This series takes a pro-con approach to today’s social issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. It's the perfect resource when you have to take one side of a debate or have to write a persuasive essay.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays on today’s crucial issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. A great resource for overview and persuasive papers and speeches.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for more than 2,700 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The premier research platform to find and analyze scholarly research literature on Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

For more resources, please use the search options in the previous tab.

Mims' Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Publication Date: 2019
Goering, Richard V.; Dockrell, Hazel M.; Zuckerman, Mark; Chiodini, Peter L.
Plotkin's Vaccines
Publication Date: 2017
Stanley A. Plotkin; Walter A. Orenstein; Paul A. Offit; Kathryn M. Edwards
The Politics of Vaccination: A Global History
Publication Date: 2017
Stuart Blume (Editor); Christine Holmberg (Editor); Paul Greenough (Editor); David Cantor (Series edited by)