This guide will assist you in locating book reviews, as well as finding a few sources that provide an overview of how to to write book reviews.
Here are a few databases that index large numbers of book reviews from a variety of general interest periodicals, including Choice, Booklist, and Library Journal among many others.
- Book Review Digest Plus
This database includes citations and/or excerpts of books review for English-language fiction and non-fiction texts, excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences. More than 150 sources are indexed; dates from 1983-present. Make sure to limit to "Book Review" under "Document Type." (If the book you seek a review of was published before 1983, consult Book Review Digest in print in the Indexes & Abstracts section on the second floor of the Park Library.)
- Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database
This database contains more than 300,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. Information about awards, honors, prizes given to specific books is also provided.
- Academic OneFile
This large database indexes periodicals such as Booklist, Choice, and Library Journal, among many others that publish book reviews. The full-text is often provided. Search by Named Work (for book titles) and/or Person Name (for authors) rather than general keywords.
- The Historical New York Times
The entire full-text of The New York Times from 1851-2009. Select "Review" for the Document Type option and type in an author's name or book title (i.e. Document Title) in a search box.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis includes book reviews from newspapers, magazines, and journals. Use the "Search the News" box to locate book reviews from newspapers and major magazines.