Bradley A. Long: Home

URL: http://libguides.cmich.edu/bradley_long

Subject Librarian

Bradley A. Long, MSLS, AHIP
Contact:
Park 224
Library Office Phone:
(989) 774-4303
CMU Cell Phone: (989) 854-6217
CMED Building Office Hours (Room 1428): Mon & Tue: 8-11 AM, Thu & Fri: 2-4 PM
Website / Blog Page

Bio

Bradley A. Long (or Brad) has been a professional medical librarian since 1995, joining Central Michigan University in the Summer of 2012. His primary responsibility is to serve as an embedded librarian within the College of Medicine (CMED).  He also is responsible for developing the online library collections to support CMED and coordinates information literacy instruction within the CMED curriculum.  Brad also provides campus-wide support for EndNote Basic, on behalf of the University Libraries.  His services have also been featured in the University Libraries' newsletter, Reference Point, in both the Fall 2012 issue and the Fall 2013 issue.

Brad earned his Master of Science in Library Science from Clarion University of Pennsylvania and a Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences from Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania. His academic experience includes serving first as an Information Services Librarian, then as Serials & Electronic Collections Librarian at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, PA, in addition to being the Head of Reference & Liaison Services at SUNY Upstate Medical University in Syracuse, NY.  He has also taught online masters-level Library Science courses for Clarion University of Pennsylvania.  For the first five years of his career, he served as a librarian at teaching hospitals in both Pittsburgh, PA and Wheeling, WV.  Brad is also a senior level member of the Academy of Health Information Professionals.

His professional expertise includes medical database searching, open-access publishing support, evidence-based medicine instruction, and electronic resource collection development.  His research interests include embedded librarianship within a medical school curriculum, library services to unaffiliated healthcare professionals, and electronic resource management in the health sciences, in addition to librarian-level involvement in systematic reviews and meta-analyses.  Brad also serves as a Librarian Selector for Doody's Core Titles in the Health Sciences.

Publications

Journal Articles

Hussain N, Ferreri TG, Prusick PJ, Banfield L, Long B, Prusick VR, Mohit B. Adductor canal block versus femoral canal block for total knee arthroplasty: a meta-analysis: what does the evidence suggest? Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine. 2016; 41(3):314-20.  Find it! @ CMU

Long BA. Interlibrary loan and e-journals: do you know your library's site licenses? Journal of Electronic Resources in Medical Libraries. 2007;4(3):93-98.  Find it! @ CMU

Long BA. Educating the next generation of serialists. Journal of Electronic Resources in Medical Libraries. 2006;3(4):59-64.  Find it! @ CMU

Long BA. OPACs and e-journals: issues to consider. Journal of Electronic Resources in Medical Libraries. 2006;3(3):89-9.  Find it! @ CMU

Long BA. Simple tips for selecting a link resolver. Journal of Electronic Resources in Medical Libraries. 2006;3(2):55-62.  Find it! @ CMU

Wolf DG, Chastain-Warheit CC, Easterby-Gannett S, Chayes MC, Long BA. Hospital librarianship in the United States: at the crossroads. Journal of the Medical Library Association. 2002;90(1):38-48.  Find it! @ CMU

Newsletter Articles

Dexter N, Long BA. The start up culture at the "born digital" library. Jan. 2017. [Accepted for Publication: May 31, 2016] 

Muellenbach J, Rand D, Long BA. MLA News. Budgeting for an opening day collection in “born digital” libraries. Sep. 2016. http://www.mlanet.org/p/do/sd/sid=2447&fid=6295&req=direct&source=5

Dexter N, Long BA. Staffing the "born digital" library. MLA News. May 2016. http://www.mlanet.org/p/do/sd/sid=2113&fid=5408&req=direct

Long BA. Serving the unaffiliated mental health practitioners in central New York. The MARquee. Jun. 2008. http://tinyurl.com/pqc8h2x

Book Reviews

Long BA. Review of the book Searching skills toolkit: finding the evidence. Doody's Electronic Journal. 2015. Reprinted by Barnes & Noble

Long BA. Review of the book E-Serials: publishers, libraries, users, and standards. Doody's Electronic Journal. 2003.  Reprinted by Barnes & Noble

Long BA. Review of the book Helping the difficult library patron: new approaches to examining and resolving a long-standing and ongoing problem. Doody's Electronic Journal. 2003.  Reprinted by Barnes & Noble

Long BA. Review of the book Making waves: new serials landscapes in a sea of change. Doody's Electronic Journal. 2003.  Reprinted by Barnes & Noble

Presentations

Poster Presentations

Long BA, Martinez FJ. Student-directed information literacy training: applying librarian-faculty facilitated small-group learning within a medical school curriculum. Poster presentation at the Great Lakes Conference on Teaching and Learning. Mount Pleasant, MI (May 13, 2015). Full Text

Long BA, Martinez FJ. Information literacy integration into Central Michigan University’s College of Medicine curriculum. Poster presentation at Michigan Health Sciences Libraries Association Annual Education Conference. Mount Pleasant, MI (Oct. 16, 2014). Full Text without Images

Long BA. Developing a new medical college-specific electronic collection within a university library setting. Poster presentation at the Michigan Health Sciences Libraries Association Annual Education Conference. Grand Rapids, MI (Oct. 17, 2013). Full Text without Images

Invited Speaker

Long BA. Utilizing the flipped classroom for database instruction. Association of American Medical Colleges, Central Group on Medical Affairs, Libraries in Medical Education Special Interest Group. Online WebEx Meeting (Aug. 25, 2016).

Long B. Information outreach to rural county and state mental health agencies. Conversations in the Discipline: Mental Health Disparities in New York and Surrounding Area. Binghamton, NY (May 1, 2009).

Long B. Managing e-books: how to incorporate emerging electronic resources in your library without ruining your budget or your health. Annual Professional Development Conference, Clarion University of Pennsylvania, Department of Library Science. Philadelphia, PA (Oct. 7, 2005).

Long B. Internet medical and scientific resources for medical writers. Annual Freelance Workshop. American Medical Writers Association-Delaware Valley Chapter. King of Prussia, PA (Jan. 17, 2004).

Long B. Medical resources for law librarians. Program for the Greater Philadelphia Law Library Association. Philadelphia, PA (Dec. 6, 2002).

Long B, Pierce J. Health care reporters seminar. On behalf of the Philadelphia Regional Chapter of the Medical Library Association at the Philadelphia Inquirer. Philadelphia, PA (Oct. 2, 2001).

Panel Discussions

Stevens A, Long B, Grudzien P, Williamson P. Horror, religion, and sex, oh my! Why texts get banned! Panel discussion at Central Michigan University’s Annual Banned Books Week. Mount Pleasant, MI. (Sep. 26, 2013).

Long B, Kepsel A, Swanson S, Smith J, Ellis-Danquah LV, Lorbeer L. Curriculum integration. Panel discussion at the Michigan Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries InfoShare Meeting. Ann Arbor, MI (Jul. 18, 2013).

Long B, Chiodo A, Charity B, Mayotte J. Single service desk. Panel discussion at the Central New York Library Resources Council Library Assistant Day. Syracuse, NY (Oct. 16, 2008).

Continuing Education Instructor

Long BA, Jucovy PM. Communicating with physicians: for librarians. A Medical Library Association approved continuing education course. Taught through out the U.S. a total of nine times between 2002 and 2010. Course Description

Gillikin D, Long B, Rudes J. NIH Public Access Policy: everything you need to know for compliance. Joint webcast and onsite lecture at SUNY Upstate Medical University. Syracuse, NY (Sep. 9, 2009). Slides

Brennan DP, Long BA. Searching online medical resources. Computer workshop presentation at the St. Francis Medical Center Tertiary Care Conference. Pittsburgh, PA (Sep. 5, 1997).

Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy