Political Science: Databases

URL: https://libguides.cmich.edu/psc

Political Science Journal Articles Indexes

  • GuideStar Includes information on all tax-exempt nonprofits registered with the IRS. There are more than 1.8 million organizations in the database including more than 1 million public charities, approximately 141,000 private foundations, and more than half a million other exempt organizations.
  • Westlaw News by states Coverage varies by publication to the present. Search separately or combined for news in Reuters publications, blogs, magazines, newspapers, transcripts, or wires. Includes U. S. and international publications.
  • NewsBank Access to America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers

Databases:

HeinOnline indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories including bills and laws, constitutions, regulations, legislature membership, public policy, state newspapers of record, and more.

How to cite legal sources in APA style?
  • The 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (2009) outlines the citation style for legal materials in the Appendix to Chapter 7 (pp. 216 – 224).
  • APA format (Reference List): Name of law, State Abbreviation, Code Abbreviation, section number(s) (Year), an example:  

            Probationary Teacher Rated as Effective or Highly Effective; Displacement. Mich. MCL 38.82a (1973 & 2011),

  •     In-Text citation, an example:

            Probationary Teacher Rated as Effective or Highly Effective (2011)

Note: The 6th edition of APA does not provide examples for Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL), the two examples above are made based APA's samples of a status in a state code (p. 220) and samples under "Administrative and Executive Materials" (p. 223). If you'd like to discuss how to cite MCL in APA, please email Rui Wang, Social Sciences Librarian, at wang1r@cmich.edu

Loading ...

Research Help

Dear Students: To schedule an appointment, simply click the button

choose the date and time that works best for you. Or, stop by my office. 

Office Hours:

Tuesdays 12 pm - 2 pm

Thursday 2 - 4 pm

Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy