Research Guides: Anthropology: References online

Reference Books

Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Graeme Barker (Editor); Annie Grant (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415064484
Publication Date: 1999-08-03
This volume brings together the myriad strands and the great temporal and spatial breadth of the field into a single thematically organized volume. The volume is organized into three major sections: origins, aims and methods of archaeology; problems and approaches to archaeology; and the development of human society and archaeology.
Encyclopedia of Caribbean Archaeology by Basil A. Reid (Editor); R. Grant Gilmore (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813044200
Publication Date: 2014-04-22
"A diverse and thorough encyclopedia of terms, places, people, and issues relevant to Caribbean archaeology, past and present."--Todd J. Braje
Encyclopedia of Dubious Archaeology by Kenneth L. Feder
ISBN: 0313379181
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
This book provides a fascinating, encyclopedic antidote for the mysticism and pseudoscience surrounding well-known or highly publicized archaeological and anthropological "discoveries."
Milestones in Archaeology by Tim Murray
ISBN: 1576071863
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
This engaging work uses key discoveries, events, people, techniques, and controversies to give the general reader a rich history of archaeology from its beginnings in the 16th century to the present.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology by H. James Birx (Editor) This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology.
ISBN: 0761930299
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Encyclopedia of World Cultures by Melvin Ember; Carol R. Ember; Ian A. Skoggard; Human Relations Area Files, Inc Staff (Contribution by) This 10-volume set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture. Its cross-cultural perspective meets high school curricular requirements for world studies and social sciences. The single volume Supplement covers 65 cultures not included in the original set and provides updates to cultures that have changed significantly during the past 10 to 15 years.
ISBN: 9780028656717
Publication Date: 2002-04-25
Handbook of Material Culture by Chris Tilley (Editor); Susanne Kuechler-Fogden (Editor); Webb Keane (Editor); Mike Rowlands (Editor); Patricia Spyer (Editor) The Handbook of Material Culture provides a critical survey of the theories, concepts, intellectual debates, substantive domains, and traditions of study characterizing the analysis of "things.
ISBN: 1412900395
Publication Date: 2006-01-26
Native Americans Today by Bruce E. Johansen (Editor) This engaging collection of Native American profiles examines these individuals' unique life experiences within the larger context of U.S. history.
ISBN: 9781282657250
Publication Date: 2010-01-01

Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology by Joan C. Stevenson
ISBN: 0313247560
Publication Date: 1991-08-30
This reference dictionary takes a new approach to the study of physical anthropology by focusing on the concepts involved. As Stevenson notes at the outset, physical or biological anthropology is a synthetic discipline which has borrowed much from evolutionary biology, anatomy, genetics, medicine, zoology, paleontology, and demography.
History of Physical Anthropology by Frank Spencer (Editor)
ISBN: 0815304900
Publication Date: 1996-12-01
First Published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by Kristian Heggenhougen (Editor-In-Chief); Stella Quah (Editor)
ISBN: 9780122272257
Publication Date: 2008-09-12
An authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by Larry L. Mai; Marcus Young Owl; M. Patricia Kersting
ISBN: 9780521662505
Publication Date: 2005-06-23
The Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution (DHBE) is an invaluable research and study tool for both professionals and students covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology.

Reference Collections

Oxford Handbooks Online
- Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in 14 subject areas. The Oxford Handbooks are one of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford's scholarly publishing, bringing together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.

Social Justice and Global Studies
- Gale Ebooks Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other specialized reference resources on a wide range of topics. A great place for topic overviews.
- The World Factbook provide the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- Issues & Controversies
- Opposing Viewpoint

Subject Librarian

Rui Wang

Email Me

Contact:

Email: wang1r@cmich.edu
Office: Park Library 232

989-774-4218

Subjects: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Datasets and Statistical Information, Military Science, Neuroscience, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Social Work, Sociology