Social Work: Annotated Bibliography

URL: https://libguides.cmich.edu/swk

How to Write an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is an organized list of cited sources with annotations related to a particular topic. An annotation includes your brief summary and your critical evaluation about the cited source.

Follow the steps to make an annotated bibliography:

  1. Download the APA Annotated Bibliography Template;
  2. Use the Encyclopedia of Social Work and Social Services Abstracts listed on the Social Work Research guide to find an encyclopedia article and journal research articles relevant to your research topic;
  3. Generate the citations, and copy/paste them to the Annotated Bibliography Template;
  4. Write two short paragraphs under each source (about 150 - 200 words):
  • The first paragraph is a short summary of the article in your own words. Your short summary can, at least, include two parts: what the study is about, and what are the results/findings are. Avoid quoting and do not copy the abstract of the article.
  • The second paragraph is a short discussion of how this source help you develop a research focus? How will you use this source to support and reinforce the argument or claim you will be making?

Research Help

To schedule an appointment for one-on-one research help face to face or online, simply click the button

Rui Wang, Social Science Librarian, wang1r@cmich.edu 

Or, stop by my office Park Library Room 220. Office Hours:

Tuesdays 12 pm - 2 pm

Thursday 2 - 4 pm

Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy