Statistics and Datasets: Datasets

URL: https://libguides.cmich.edu/statsdatasets

Dataset Databases

  • ICPSR Data Archive Abstracts and data sets in the world's largest archive of computerized social science data
  • Data Citation Index Web of Science Data Citation Index includes bibliographic metadata from research data in Data Studies and Data Sets from a wide range of international data repositories.
  • DemographicsNow Search for people, businesses, or access a demographic report on any geography – or compare multiple geographies - for information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more.
  • General Social Survey (GSS) contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. GSS home page
  • International Terrorism: Attributes of Terrorist Events (ITERATE) ITERATE datasets (1968-2012) is based on international terrorism event chronologies represented in major media, research, news, and information services.
  • Latin American Databank locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America and the Caribbean.
  • Life Sciences Datasets This research guide provides links to data repositories in the life sciences and will allow you to download existing datasets for your research.
  • Mendeley Data is an open research data repository, where researchers can upload and share their research data. Datasets can be shared privately amongst individuals, as well as published to share with the world.
  • MRI University Reporter Key magazine planning data resources, summary tables of key audience and product usage data from national probability samples.
  • Roper Center: US Elections includes Presidential elections, primary exit polls, National Election Day exit polls, State Election Day exit polls, Popular vote 1940-2008, Congressional elections.

Datasets By Subject

OECD Data Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development  is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all.

Loading ...

Datasets by other providers

  • American FactFinder
  • DATA.gov Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
  • DataFinder "Search hundreds of indicators, thousands of locations, and easily create custom reports to print, download, and share."
  • Economic and Social Data Service The Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS) is a national data service that brings together the following centres of expertise in data creation, preservation and use:
  • Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study The Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study is following a cohort of nearly 5,000 children born in large U.S. cities between 1998 and 2000 (roughly three-quarters of whom were born to unmarried parents).
  • Henry A. Murray Research Archive at Harvard University "is Harvard's endowed, permanent repository for quantitative and qualitative research data at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science, and provides physical storage for the entire IQSS Dataverse Network.”
  • IPUMS Integrated Public User Microdata Series by Minnesota Population Center (MPC) at University of Minnesota.
  • Medeley Data Search 10.3 million datasets from domain-specific and cross-domain repositories
  • MDRC Created in 1974 by the Ford Foundation and a group of federal agencies, MDRC is best known for mounting large-scale demonstrations and evaluations of real-world policies and programs targeted to low-income people.
  • PSID The Panel Study of Income Dynamics - PSID - is the longest running longitudinal household survey in the world. The study began in 1968 with a nationally representative sample of over 18,000 individuals living in 5,000 families in the United States.
  • UNICEF plays a central role in monitoring the situation of children and women – by assisting countries in collecting and analyzing data.
  • Zenodo about Zendodo

How to cite your datasets?

  • Cite ICPSR datasets This page offers guidelines and best practices for citing social science research data in order to promote vigorous and consistent attribution of datasets.
  • Cite Roper Center Data Cite data from other databases, use the APA general rule (see the description in APA Manual p. 210-211) An example:

How and where to deposit your datasets?

Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy