Research Guides: Measuring Research Impact: Individual Work Metrics (books, book chapters, conference proceedings, Data, etc.)

Article Citations

Web of Science' Cited Reference Search Search for citations of each article, create citation maps

Google Scholar Google Scholar Citations provide a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles.

Disciplinary Databases Search times cited for an article from disciplinary databases, for example, PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts, etc.

Public Library of Science (PLOS) Track online usage for individual artciles within PLOS journals science 2009. Metrics include "Viewed," "Cited," "Saved," "Discussed," and "Recommended."

Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered search and discovery tool that helps researchers discover and understand scientific literature that's most relevant to their work. It covers 175 million papers in all scientific disciplines.

Scite.ai Smart Citations allow users to see how a scientific paper has been cited by providing the context of the citation and a classification describing whether it provides supporting or contradicting evidence for the cited claim.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of humanities and social science content. Offers complete, full-text versions of more than 700 scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies and more than 60,000 books from more than 100 publishers.

Book Citation Index contains more than 60,000 books, expanding its coverage with an additional 10,000 new titles each year. Social Sciences + Arts & Humanities 61%, Natural Sciences 39% within 5 years.
- The selection criteria

Book Reviews
- Disciplinary Databases See an example
- JSTOR Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.
- Project Muse Humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
- New York Times Book Review CMU has a subscription, login your individual account
- Book Review – Harvard Review

Conference Proceedings Index is available in two editions: Sciences & Technology and Social Science- provide enhanced coverage of books and meeting abstracts. Together, these two editions cover nearly 256 categories from over 160,000 conference proceedings since 1990. Conference Proceedings Selection Process

Data Citation Index indexes a number of the world's leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets. About Data Citation Index

Dryad A curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable.