Skip to main content

Datasets: How to cite and where and how to deposit datasets?

How to cite your datasets?

  • Cite ICPSR datasets This page offers guidelines and best practices for citing social science research data in order to promote vigorous and consistent attribution of datasets.
  • APA Style - APA general rule (see the description in APA Manual p. 210-211) An example:

Data Management Plan (DMP) Requirements and Repositories

  • ICPSR Deposit Data Depositing data into ICPSR is free. Deposits are made using a secure data deposit form to describe the data collection and upload content.
  • Anthropology
    • Archaeology Data Service  Accredited respository for heritage data in the United Kingdom. Library of Unpublished Fieldwork Reports Direct link to unpublished field reports available through OASIS in the United Kingdom
    • DAR The Digital Archeological Record, housing data about archeological investigations, research and other resources.
    • Open Context Description is that it "reviews, edits, annotates, publishes and archives research data and digital documentation".
    • Anthrobase AnthroBase is a multilingual, searchable database of articles, theses, essays, reports, conference papers, field-notes etc., written by anthropologists and others.
  • Figshare allows users to upload any file format and accepts scholarly output inclucing figures, datasets, media, papers, posters, presentations and filesets
  • Harvard dataverse network The Harvard Dataverse Network is open to alscientific data from all disciplines worldwide
  • Dryad welcomes data files associated with any published article in the sciences or medicine, as well as software scripts and other files important to the article.
  • Mendeley Data is an open research data repository, where researchers can upload and share their research data. Datasets can be shared privately amongst individuals, as well as published to share with the world.
  • NIH Data Repositories: a table listing descriptions of, links to, and information on submission and access guidelines for NIH data repositories.
  • Open Access Directory Data Repositories: a list of repositories and databases for open data. The list is arranged alphabetically, by subject.
  • PubMed Central
  • Roper Center
  • re3data.org: global registry of research data repositories that covers repositories from different academic disciplines. As of 2015, it is a merged listing of re3data and DataBib, managed by DataCite.
  • Share: provides a comprehensive registry of research across academic disciplines.
  • Web of Science - Data Citation Index the website provides the repository selection process and contact information.
Loading ...

Research Help

To schedule an appointment for one-on-one research help face to face or online, simply click the button

Rui Wang, Social Science Librarian, wang1r@cmich.edu 

Or, stop by my office Park Library Room 220. Office Hours:

Tuesdays 12 pm - 2 pm

Thursday 2 - 4 pm

Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy