This guide offers a brief overview of library resources and databases that are of most use to students working on various writing assignments in ENG 101 sections.
Watch this tutorial to see what kinds of periodicals you can find in academic libraries like CMU's. Then search one or more of the following databases to find articles on your research topics from a wide variety of periodicals:
- Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
- Issues and Controversies
This database helps researchers understand the crucial issues we face today, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file, the database offers in-depth stories with statistics and references to a number of media outlets and periodicals.
- LexisNexis Academic
Use this database to find full-text stories from national and international newspapers and wires, as well access the full complement of LexisNexis resources including magazines, legal news, and company information.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. Sources included: More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays; 5,000+ topic overviews; more than 300 primary source documents; 300 biographies of social activists and reformers; more than 775 court-case overviews; and 5 million+ periodical articles.
- Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select
This database provides all full-text articles on a wide array of topics from 1600+ sources including news magazines and scholarly journals.
- More online indexes