Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Research Help
| Telephone (989) 774 - 3470 |
Text Message (989) 572 - 0411 |
In Person |
By Appointment |
Find An Article
General/Multidisciplinary databases such as Academic OneFile and Wilson Omnifile Select are useful databases to search for articles on a wide variety of subjects and from a wide variety of sources (including scholarly journals, newspapers, and general magazines). (Need a primer on the differences betweeen academic/scholarly journals and regular old magazines? See this tutorial for a two minute explanation.)
However, for some papers you will write in ENG 201, subject specific databases may be more helpful for you to research specific topics. Here is a representative list of some key databases you can use (more databases can be found on the Databases A-Z webpage):
- ABI/INFORM Global
In ABI/Inform, users can find articles about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape from more than 3500 publications (including scholarly journals, trade magazines, and major business newspapers). - America, History & Life
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is an important reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in other languages. - America, History & Life
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is an important reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in other languages. - Art Full Text
This database offers some full-text articles (from 1997-), plus abstracts (1994-) and indexing (1983-) of an international array of publications about subjects ranging from advertising art to texties, with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. - General Science Full Text
This database is designed specifically for students and non-specialists. It indexes and abstracts articles on a wide range of scientific topics (from Astronomy to Zoology) from 1984-present. The database features full-text of select articles from 1994-present. - Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. Sources included: More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays; 5,000+ topic overviews; more than 300 primary source documents; 300 biographies of social activists and reformers; more than 775 court-case overviews; and 5 million+ periodical articles. - Social Sciences Full Text
This database indexes and abstracts articles from 600+ social science journals (from 1983-present) and includes the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. - More online indexes
All About Journals
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Ulrich's Periodicals Directory is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (i.e., serials) of all types: Academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. More than 900 subject areas are covered. Ulrich's records provide data points such as publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), and reviews written by librarians.


Loading...
