There are many online resources relating Museum Studies. This list of resources, while by no means exhaustive, provides a basic starting point for research and information regarding Museum Studies, or Museology.
- Humanities Full Text
"Presents full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more."
- Social Sciences Full Text
"Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences."
- Abstracts in Anthropology
"Abstracts in Anthropology covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a vast number of periodicals. Several thousand abstracts, selected and classified, fully indexed by author and subject, provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, Linguistics."
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Electronic version of International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955), International Index (1955-1965), Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), and Humanities Index (1974-1996). This database should be used in conjunction with Humanities Abstracts.
- Art Full Text
"This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Museology is one of the subjects covered.
- Art Index Retrospective
"An invaluable, in-depth record of contemporary art history, Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism at a keystroke. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins."
- Historical Abstracts
Covers non-North American history from 1450 to the present. In regard to medieval history, this database is useful only for the late medieval period.
- America, History & Life
"The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history."
Provides full-text access of more than 200 history and history-related journals. Remember that in many cases the latest 3-5 years' worth of issues are NOT included due to publisher restrictions.
- American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900
APS Online spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers. A complete title list is available for downloading in Excel format with dates of coverage.
- Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800)
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's past.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transitional Archive
Contains 7,277 books and pamphlets, more than 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and 18 major manuscript collections. Varied sources — from well-known journals to private papers — open up endless possibilities for academic researchers, historians, undergraduate and graduate students, faculty and others studying the history of slavery.