Here are the Article databases particularly relevant to the general study of electronic media.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
“Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, , and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles, plus some full-text access."
- ABI/INFORM Global
Index to periodical articles on all areas of business from U. S. and International publications. Covers 1971 to present and is updated weekly. Many articles are full text. There is a great deal of material in this database that covers various aspects of public relations. CMU access only.
- Wilson Business Abstracts with Full Text
"Wilson Business Full Text is a full text database that indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals, plus the full text of selected periodicals."
A massive database that includes journal articles, clinical studies and other scholarly material covering applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. Typing the phrase "public relations" will bring up hundreds of books, articles and dissertations, many of them full-text. CMU access only.
- Communications and Mass Media Collection
"From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more."
- Humanities Full Text
A selective database covering over 625 journals in the humanities from 1984 to the present. CMU access only.
- Social Sciences Full Text
"Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences."
- LexisNexis Academic
"Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe provides full-text access and/or indexing and abstracting to information in a wide range of subject areas: general and political news from both US and non-US sources, corporate news and financial information, industry and market news, medicine and health, country profiles and federal and state law."
- Computer Database
"Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology."
- General BusinessFile ASAP
"Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available."
- Applied Science & Technology Full Text
"Access to the most important sources in applied science and technology—much of it from peer-reviewed journals. This database features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles. Full Text coverage for selected periodicals is also included."