There are many online resources relating to the study of British History. This list of resources, while by no means exhaustive, provides a basic starting point for research on the Late Victorian Period.
- ATLA Religion Database
"Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. Includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from three ATLA print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR)."
- Humanities Full Text
"Presents full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more."
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Electronic version of International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955), International Index (1955-1965), Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), and Humanities Index (1974-1996). This database should be used in conjunction with Humanities Abstracts in FirstSearch.
- Social Sciences Full Text
"Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences."
- Historical Abstracts
Covers non-North American history from 1450 to the present. In regard to medieval history, this database is useful only for the late medieval period.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the present.
Provides full-text access of more than 200 history and history-related journals. Remember that in many cases the latest 3-5 years' worth of issues are NOT included due to publisher restrictions.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection
Provides coverage of different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. Two hundred and fifty subject-appropriate full-text periodicals are included.
- The Times Digital Archive (1785 - 1985)
"Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching."
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
A print subject index to 479 American and British general periodicals published in the 19th century. Search by subject only; there are no author entries, except when the author is listed as a subject.
- Cumulative Author Index for Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906
Published in 1971, this index lists all personal names that appeared in the original index. Each entry refers to the volume, page, and column number in Poole's Index from which a particular citation can be found. The Author Index also indicates whether there are single or multiple references to a particular author. It lists all 479 titles indexed by Poole and matches volume numbers to the year in which they were published. Covers 1802-1906.
- Poole's Index: Date and Volume Key
Identifies the date and volume number of a periodical in which a particular article is published. Use as a supplement to Poole's Index to Periodical Literature and the Cumulative Author Index for Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906.
- Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals: 1800-1900
A subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects. This tool is useful for identifying various titles and periodical information, but it does not allow full-text searching within those titles--this tool is merely a useful finding guide for identifying these newspapers and periodicals. The "Tour" section in this database provides particularly helpful information.