- Communications and Mass Media Collection
"From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more."
- LexisNexis Academic
"Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe provides full-text access and/or indexing and abstracting to information in a wide range of subject areas: general and political news from both US and non-US sources, corporate news and financial information, industry and market news, medicine and health, country profiles and federal and state law."
- The Historical New York Times
The Historical New York Times (1851-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This database offers full-text and full-image articles and deal not only with news, but also includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, as well as historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
- Nineteeth Century U.S. Newspapers
"With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration."
- American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900
APS Online spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers. A complete title list is available for downloading in Excel format with dates of coverage.
- Times Digital Archive
"Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching."
- America, History & Life
"The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history."
- The Gilded Age
"Brings primary documents and scholarly commentary together into a searchable collection that includes such topics as race, labor, immigration, commerce, western expansion, and women’s suffrage. In addition to an extensive selection of key treatises that reflect the social and cultural ferment of the late nineteenth century, The Gilded Age offers a wealth of rare materials, including songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera."
- Humanities Full Text
"Presents full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more."
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Electronic version of International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955), International Index (1955-1965), Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), and Humanities Index (1974-1996). This database should be used in conjunction with Humanities Abstracts in FirstSearch.
- Social Sciences Full Text
"Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences."
Provides full-text access of more than 200 history and history-related journals. Remember that in many cases the latest 3-5 years' worth of issues are NOT included due to publisher restrictions.