Chat
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Research Help
| Telephone (989) 774 - 3470 |
Text Message (989) 572 - 0411 |
In Person |
By Appointment |
Find Article Newspaper, Magazine & Journal Articles
There are many online resources relating to the study of media from a historical perspective. This list of resources, while by no means exhaustive, provides a basic starting point for research on the the impact of the media in relation to events in American History.
- Communications and Mass Media Collection"From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more."
- The Historical New York TimesThe Historical New York Times (1851-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This database offers full-text and full-image articles and deal not only with news, but also includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, as well as historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
- Times Digital Archive
"Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching." - America, History & Life
"The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history." - Humanities Full Text
"Presents full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more." - Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Electronic version of International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955), International Index (1955-1965), Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), and Humanities Index (1974-1996). This database should be used in conjunction with Humanities Abstracts in FirstSearch. - Social Sciences Full Text
"Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences." - JSTOR
Provides full-text access of more than 200 history and history-related journals. Remember that in many cases the latest 3-5 years' worth of issues are NOT included due to publisher restrictions. - LexisNexis Academic
"Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe provides full-text access and/or indexing and abstracting to information in a wide range of subject areas: general and political news from both US and non-US sources, corporate news and financial information, industry and market news, medicine and health, country profiles and federal and state law." - Readers' Guide Full Text Mega
"The ultimate index of subjects in the popular press. This source resents the richest account of U.S. cultural history found in any single source. Covers popular, non-scholarly articles written from 1983 to the present." - Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
"The ultimate index of subjects in the popular press. This source resents the richest account of U.S. cultural history found in any single source. Covers popular, non-scholarly articles written between 1890 and 1982." - Congressional RecordIncludes the full text from 1994 to the present. Once you are in the CENTRA item record for this resource, click on "Connect to online resource."
Print Resources
Print indexes are located in the northwestern part of the 2nd Floor of the Library, near the Book Check Out Desk.
Readers' Guide To Periodical Literature
Call Number: Index AI3 .R48
ISBN: 0034-0464
Date range: 1900-1996
Congressional Record
You will find the print version of this publication in the X section of the Government Documents stacks on the 2nd floor of the Library (the exact Superintendent of Documents call numbers vary, but the Congressional Record is together by date of publication in one section).
Locate a Specific Article or Journal Using Citation Linker
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
