Here are the Article databases particularly relevant to the general study of public relations as it pertains to journalism.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
“Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, , and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles, plus some full-text access."
- ABI/INFORM Global
Index to periodical articles on all areas of business from U. S. and International publications. Covers 1971 to present and is updated weekly. Many articles are full text. There is a great deal of material in this database that covers various aspects of public relations. CMU access only.
- Humanities Full Text
A selective database covering over 625 journals in the humanities from 1984 to the present. CMU access only.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Electronic version of International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955), International Index (1955-1965), Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), and Humanities Index (1974-1996). This database should be used in conjunction with Humanities Abstracts in FirstSearch.
A massive database that includes journal articles, clinical studies and other scholarly material covering applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. Typing the phrase "public relations" will bring up hundreds of books, articles and dissertations, many of them full-text. CMU access only.
- Gale Databases
A collection of scholarly and general-interest material updated daily. The many databases include material from periodicals, newspaper articles, encyclopedias, and other reference material. Covered subjects include politics and current events, consumer electronics, arts and entertainment, automobiles, recreation and leisure, crime, personal finance, personal health, food, and many other subjects. CMU access only.