This is the "Find Articles & Databases" page of the "HST 320: American Social History to 1865" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HST 320: American Social History to 1865  

Last Updated: Mar 28, 2013 URL: http://libguides.cmich.edu/content.php?pid=250911 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Find Articles & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Help

Telephone
(989) 774 - 3470

Email

Text Message

(989) 572 - 0411

In Person

By Appointment
      

    Find An Article

    There are many online resources relating to the study of American military history. This list of resources, while by no means exhaustive, provides a basic starting point for research on the impact of the military in American history.

    • Humanities Full Text  Icon
      "Presents full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more."
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984  Icon
      Electronic version of International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955), International Index (1955-1965), Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), and Humanities Index (1974-1996). This database should be used in conjunction with Humanities Abstracts in FirstSearch.
    • Social Sciences Full Text  Icon
      Abstracts of articles on the social sciences
    • Historical Abstracts  Icon
      Covers non-North American history from 1450 to the present. In regard to medieval history, this database is useful only for the late medieval period.
    • America, History & Life  Icon
      "The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history."
    • JSTOR  Icon  Icon
      Provides full-text access of more than 200 history and history-related journals. Remember that in many cases the latest 3-5 years' worth of issues are NOT included due to publisher restrictions.
    • American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900  Icon  Icon
      APS Online spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers. A complete title list is available for downloading in Excel format with dates of coverage.
    • Nineteeth Century U.S. Newspapers
      "With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration."
    • Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transitional Archive
      "The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities."
    • U.S. History Collection
      "This collection of over 40 journals provides balanced coverage of both the current thought and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field; useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher."
    • Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800)  Icon
      Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera dating between 1639-1800.
    • Early English Books Online  Icon
      "Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700."

    Online Newspapers

    • The Historical New York Times
      The Historical New York Times (1851-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This database offers full-text and full-image articles and deal not only with news, but also includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, as well as historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
     

    Locate a specific article or journal

    Enter only as much information as you know. If you are not sure, leave it blank.
    Journal title
    * Required

    OR ISSN
    Year OR Exact date
    Volume Issue
    Start page End page
    DOI
      Clear  

    Subject Librarian

    Profile Image
    Rob Faleer
    Contact Info
    229 Park Library
    989-774-3835
    Send Email

    Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us


    CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

    Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip