Here are the Article databases particularly relevant to the general study of the Cinema.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
“Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, , and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles, plus some full-text access."
- Communications and Mass Media Collection
"From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, film studies and many more."
- Humanities Full Text
A selective database covering over 625 journals in the humanities from 1984 to the present. CMU access only.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Electronic version of International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955), International Index (1955-1965), Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), and Humanities Index (1974-1996). This database should be used in conjunction with Humanities Abstracts in FirstSearch.
Provides full-text access to 13 major film-study related journals. Remember that in many cases the latest 3-5 years' worth of issues are NOT included due to publisher restrictions.
- ABI/INFORM Global
Index to periodical articles on all areas of business from U. S. and International publications. Covers 1971 to present and is updated weekly. Many articles are full text. There is a great deal of material in this database that covers various aspects of the business of the motion picture industry. CMU access only.