- ATLA Religion Database
"Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. Includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from three ATLA print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR)."
- Humanities Full Text
"Presents full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more."
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Electronic version of International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955), International Index (1955-1965), Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), and Humanities Index (1974-1996). This database should be used in conjunction with Humanities Abstracts in FirstSearch.
- Social Sciences Full Text
"Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
- Historical Abstracts
Covers non-North American history from 1450 to the present. In regard to medieval history, this database is useful only for the late medieval period.
- America, History & Life
"The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history."
Provides full-text access of more than 200 history and history-related journals. Remember that in many cases the latest 3-5 years' worth of issues are NOT included due to publisher restrictions.
- Book Review Digest Plus
This database includes citations and/or excerpts of books review for English-language fiction and non-fiction texts, excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences. More than 150 sources are indexed; dates from 1983-present. (If the book you seek a review of was published before 1983, consult Book Review Digest in print in the Indexes & Abstracts section on the second floor of the Park Library.)
- Historical New York Times (1851-2007)
"The New York Times (1851-2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This database offers full-text and full-image articles and deal not only with news, but also includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, as well as historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements."
- New York Times Index (1985-present)
- Project Muse
"Project MUSE covers the full text of over 200 journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others. To find book reviews, choose Advanced Search and use the pulldown menu under Limit Search and By Type to select Review. Advanced search page also has a list of journals and years available."
- Academic OneFile
This large database indexes periodicals such as Booklist, Choice, and Library Journal, among many others that publish book reviews. The full-text is often provided. Search by Named Work (for book titles) and/or Person Name (for authors) rather than general keywords.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis includes book reviews from newspapers, magazines, and journals. Select "Guided News Search" to locate book reviews from newspapers and major magazines.