An index points to a location of a resource or item.
Indexes may also contain dissertations and
theses. Articles not available at CMU
can be acquired through ILL.
- Humanities Full Text
Presents full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
- The Music Index Online
MIO indexes more than 775 international music periodicals from 1970-present linking to J-Stor for full text when available. Topics cover every aspect of classical and popular music, including all styles and genres of music. CMU has the first print issue, 1949, to 2006 in print on the 2nd floor, near the checkout desk.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
RIPM is an international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800-1950. Periodicals ceasing publication in the 1950s and 1960s will be placed on a case-by-case basis in either RIPM or RILM.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM is an international index that includes journal articles, current literature (articles and reviews), essays in books, Festschriften, papers, bibliographies, and dissertations from 1967-Present. It is not full text, but links to full text when possible. CMU has volumes from 1967-1998 in print.
- America: History and Life
"The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history."
- Social Sciences Abstracts
"Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences."
From a Database:
Look for the button in the record for the article.
Clicking this button will provide you with a list of options to get the article:
- Online (if available)
- In Print (check Centra)
- Interlibrary Loan (request if not otherwise available from Documents on Demand)
From a Citation:
Use the "Citation Linker" to locate a specific article or journal.