Articles about legal topics can be found in many databases related to the topic. Consult the box below for other database options that deal with Journalism.
- Law Reviews and Journals
Find articles from law reviews and other scholarly journals via LexisNexis Academic. CMU access only.
- LexisNexis Congressional
All Federal laws and rules via LexisNexis Academic.
- U. S. Federal and State Cases
"This database, via LexisNexis Academic, allows searching of U.S. federal and state court cases by legal citation, topic, location, people, and time period. Cases present background information, summaries, opinions, and decisions with additional data supplied by LexisNexis to interpret the cases."
- State Statutes, Codes & Regulations
All State laws, regulations and codes via LexisNexis Academic.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals-Law
Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- Communications and Mass Media Collection
"From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more."
Here are the article databases particularly relevant to the general study of Journalism.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
“Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, , and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles, plus some full-text access."
- Humanities Full Text
A selective database covering over 625 journals in the humanities from 1984 to the present. CMU access only.
- Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes international, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Covers 1983 to present and in updated monthly. CMU access only.
- ABI/INFORM Global
Index to periodical articles on all areas of business from U. S. and International publications. Covers 1971 to present and is updated weekly. Many articles are full text. There is a great deal of material in this database that covers various aspects of the business of journalism. CMU access only.
A massive database that includes journal articles, clinical studies and other scholarly material covering applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. CMU access only.
- Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- English and Spanish language. The titles in Ethnic NewsWatch represent the diversity of the American population in ways that are generally not seen in the mainstream media. The publications of the ethnic and minority press have been presenting a different reality for more than 150 years.
- The Historical New York Times
The Historical New York Times (1851-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This database offers full-text and full-image articles and deal not only with news, but also includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, as well as historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
- New York Times
- Times Digital Archive
This resource represents the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and word-hit highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.