There are many online resources relating to the study of media from a historical perspective. This list of resources, while by no means exhaustive, provides a basic starting point for research on the the impact of the media in relation to events in American History.
- Historical New York Times (1851-2007)
The Historical New York Times (1851-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This database offers full-text and full-image articles and deal not only with news, but also includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, as well as historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
- The Times Digital Archive (1785 - 1985)
"Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching."
- America: History and Life
"The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history."
- Humanities Abstracts
"Presents full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more."
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Electronic version of International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955), International Index (1955-1965), Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), and Humanities Index (1974-1996). This database should be used in conjunction with Humanities Abstracts in FirstSearch.
- Social Sciences Abstracts
"Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences."
Provides full-text access of more than 200 history and history-related journals. Remember that in many cases the latest 3-5 years' worth of issues are NOT included due to publisher restrictions.
- LexisNexis Academic
"Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe provides full-text access and/or indexing and abstracting to information in a wide range of subject areas: general and political news from both US and non-US sources, corporate news and financial information, industry and market news, medicine and health, country profiles and federal and state law."
- Philosopher’s Index
Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
"Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. Includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from three ATLA print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR)."