ENG 101: Freshman Composition: Collins, Tracy

This guide offers a brief overview of library resources and databases that are of most use to students working on various writing assignments in ENG 101 sections. URL: https://libguides.cmich.edu/eng101
in Multiple Resources
in Articles - Peer Reviewed
in Library Catalog
in Databases A-Z
in Journals A-Z
in Research Guides
in CMU Library FAQ

Scholarly & Trade Journal Articles

Additional Education Resources.

  1. Navigate to a database such as Academic Search Complete and do an initial keyword search.
  2. Limit to Magazines under Source Types. This category includes trade magazines.

screen grab of the Academic Search Complete interface.

  1. Look for articles from journals that have titles that indicate they are for people in a particular profession and not the general public.
  • Titles like: Alcoholism & Drug Abuse Weekly, Brown University Digest of Addiction Theory & Application, National On-Campus Report 
  • NOT: Newsweek, Time 
  • Once you open the article record, you can usually click on the journal title to find more information about the intended audience.
  1. Navigate to a database like ERIC (ProQuest) and do an initial keyword search.
  2. Limit to Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly Articles using the limiters on the side.

Screen grab of a database's interface.

  1. Make sure the article you are looking at is a research article and not a book review, news article. Check for clues that what you are seeing is a peer-reviewed research article: 
  • A long article with structure in the form of headings
  • In-text citations (parenthetical or footnotes)
  • Extensive bibliography 
  • Statistical data, charts or graphs
  • Author credentials or affiliations
  • Photos or images directly relate to the study
  • Specialized jargon specific to the discipline (area of study)
Loading ...

New York Times

Searching for editorials in the New York Times Online.

From the New York Times Online homepage.

  1. Select Opinion.

From the New York Times homepage, select "opinion."

  1. Scroll down (way, way down).
  2. Click into the search tab and search for your topic.

scroll down, select the opinion tab, and search


Searching for editorials in the New York Times, 1851-2015 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers).

  1. Enter your keywords.
  2. Select Editorial.
  3. Click Search.

In the New York Times Historical Database: 1. enter keywords, 2. select editorial under document type, 3. click search.

Loading ...

Librarian

Caitlin Benallack's picture
Caitlin Benallack
Contact:
223 Park
989-774-2286

Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy