Provides access to information necessary to complete evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, self-assessments, and board reviews.
Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
Reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. (NOTE: access limited to 8 concurrent users)
Aminoff's Neurology and General Medicine (6e)
by
Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice (8e)
by
Clinical Neuroanatomy (29e)
by
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment: Neurology (3e)
by
Essentials of Modern Neuroscience
by
Fenichel's Clinical Pediatric Neurology: A Signs and Symptoms Approach (8e)
by
Netter's Neurology (3e)
by
Nolte's Essentials of the Human Brain (2e)
by
Nolte's the Human Brain in Photographs and Diagrams (5e)
by
Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology (10e)
by
Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology (11e)
by
Behavioral Medicine: A Guide for Clinical Practice (4e)
by
Behavioral Medicine: A Guide for Clinical Practice (5e)
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The #1 guide to behavioral issues in medicine delivering thorough, practical discussion of the full scope of the physician-patient relationship "This is an extraordinarily thorough, useful book. It manages to summarize numerous topics, many of which are not a part of a traditional medical curriculum, in concise, relevant chapters."--Doody's Review Service - 5 stars, reviewing an earlier edition The goal of Behavioral Medicine is to help practitioners and students understand the interplay between psychological, physical, social and cultural issues of patients. Within its pages readers will find real-world coverage of behavioral and interactional issues that occur between provider and patient in everyday clinical practice. Readers will learn how to deliver bad news, how to conduct an effective patient interview, how to care for patients at the end of life, how to clinically manage common mental and behavioral issues in medical patients, the principles of medical professionalism, motivating behavior change, and much more. As the leading text on the subject, this trusted classic delivers the most definitive, practical overview of the behavioral, clinical, and social contexts of the physician-patient relationship. The book is case based to reinforce learning through real-world examples, focusing on issues that commonly arise in everyday medical practice and training. One of the significant elements of Behavioral Medicine is the recognition that the wellbeing of physicians and other health professionals is critically important to caring for patients.
Behavioral Science in Medicine (2e)
by
Essential Neuroscience (4e)
by
Essential Neuroscience integrates must-have neuroscience information with clinical and physiological considerations to help readers master the fundamentals of neuroscience and prepare for board and course exams. Acclaimed for its concise, clinically relevant coverage, this student-friendly book uses a stepwise approach that starts with the basic building blocks of neural anatomy and expands to cover structures and functions, the interaction of systems, and the science of clinical disorders. A well-balanced mix of anatomy, physiology, biology, and biochemistry helps students increase their conceptual understanding of the subject matter and prepare for practice. Vividly illustrated and rich with clinical case studies, summary tables, a glossary of key terms, and comprehensive USMLE-style review questions, this accessible resource fosters the understanding essential to students' success on their exams and in clinical practice. Updated coverage familiarizes you with the latest clinical practices and approaches. Full-color illustrations clarify anatomic structures and complex processes. CT images and MRIs demonstrate radiologic anatomy and present conditions in a clinically relevant context. Clinical Cases enhance your clinical application capabilities and help you confidently manage commonly encountered conditions. Chapter Outlines and Summary Tables emphasize essential content and maximize your study time. Glossary defines bolded key terms at a glance. USMLE-style Review Questions with detailed explanations challenge your understanding and prepare you to excel on course and board exams. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care: Behavioral Health in the Medical Setting
by
An innovative psychiatry textbook that presents behavioral disorders from the perspective of what is seen in medical settings The goal of Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care is not to make psychiatrists out of medical clinicians, but rather, to help clinicians manage common behavioral conditions that most often present in a medical setting. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care seeks to integrate medicine and psychiatry --- as the authors' systems-based biopsychosocial model proposes. The book identifies physical symptoms as a common mode of presentation of mental health problems and describes how to integrate them with psychological symptoms to make diagnoses of mental disorders. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care also details a behaviorally defined, evidence-based mental healthcare model that can be effectively used in a medical setting. The combined experiences in primary care of the authors --- who specialize in both general internal medicine and psychiatry --- provide the perfect background for a book of this nature. Having trained medical students, as well as internal and family medicine residents since 1986, their experience and research demonstrates the information they outline is effective and associated with improved mental and physical health outcomes.
Fitzgerald's Clinical Neuroanatomy and Neuroscience (8e)
by
Ideal for both medical students and those in non-medical courses, Fitzgerald's Clinical Neuroanatomy and Neuroscience, 8th Edition, uses clear, understandable text and outstanding artwork to make a complex subject easily accessible. This award-winning title is known for superb illustrations and high readability, expertly integrating clinical neuroanatomy with the clinical application of neuroscience. Organizes chapters by anatomical area, with integrated analyses of sensory, motor, and cognitive systems. Breaks complex concepts and subjects into easily digestible content with clear images and concise, straightforward explanations. Features explanatory illustrations drawn by the same meticulous artists who illustrated Gray's Anatomy. Includes new Basic Science Panels that highlight an emerging or relevant basic science concept to expand your learning in specific content areas. Provides access to the Student Consult enhanced eBook, which contains tutorials for each chapter, hundreds of multiple-choice questions and answers, MRI images with explanatory text, and case studies. Contains learning helps in every chapter, including bulleted points, clinical boxes, opening summaries, and concluding core information boxes. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry (7e)
by
The prevalence of psychiatry in popular culture has coincided with the rise of amateur "armchair" psychiatrists--and this often serves to muddy the waters about what, exactly, the field entails. For all the misconceptions, though, psychiatry is an endlessly fascinating field, charged with defining and recognizing mental illnesses, identifying methods for treating them, and discovering their causes and developing measures to prevent them. Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry dispels common misunderstandings and delves into what makes this such an exciting discipline. Now in its seventh edition, this bestselling guide is organized along the lines of DSM-5 and has been updated to reflect changes to the manual, including new medications and therapies. Rigorous in scope, Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry is nevertheless accessible and conversational in tone. It employs fascinating case vignettes, clinical pearls, self-assessment questions, and tables and figures as it offers a summary of: * The DSM-5 diagnostic system* The neurobiological basis of psychiatry* Interviewing and assessment--including specific questions that patients can be asked* The various psychiatric disorders* Legal issues* Psychiatric emergencies* Treatment Initially developed for medical students and beginning residents, this guide is also a valuable reference for nurse practitioners, physician assistants, social workers, and psychologists. And because it has been edited to align with the Pocket Guide to Psychiatric Practice, it makes an excellent companion piece to that volume, as well.
Kaplan & Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry (12e)
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Accurate, reliable, objective, and comprehensive, Kaplan & Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry has long been the leading clinical psychiatric resource for clinicians, residents, students, and other health care professionals both in the US and worldwide. Now led by a new editorial team of Drs. Robert Boland and Marcia L. Verduin, it continues to offer a trusted overview of the entire field of psychiatry while bringing you up to date with current information on key topics and developments in this complex specialty. The twelfth edition has been completely reorganized to make it more useful and easier to navigate in today's busy clinical settings. A revised table of contents moves the most clinically relevant material to the beginning of the book, including sections on diagnosis, psychopathology and psychiatric conditions, treatment across the lifespan, and therapy and other interventions. Reformats clinical chapters to include clearer section headings and easy-to-digest summaries of important information, all with the goal of helping you find information quickly and easily locate answers to specific problems. Includes numerous case studies to enhance the learning experience. Presents the most current treatment methods including descriptions of all modern psychotherapeutic techniques. Includes descriptive tables for all relevant DSM-5 and ICD-10 diagnoses and an up-to-date psychopharmacology section organized according to mechanisms of action. Carries on the tradition of excellence established by Drs. Benjamin J. Sadock and Virginia A. Sadock, with Dr. Pedro Ruiz returning as Consulting Editor. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context: Structures, Sections, Systems, and Syndromes (10e)
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context is unique in integrating clinical information, correlations, and terminology with neuroanatomical concepts. It provides everything students need to not only master the anatomy of the central nervous system, but also understand its clinical relevance - ensuring preparedness for exams and clinical rotations. This authoritative approach, combined with salutary features such as full-color stained sections, extensive cranial nerve cross-referencing, and systems neurobiology coverage, sustains the legacy of this legendary teaching and learning tool. Emphasizes neuroscience information, concepts, and images that collectively constitute a comprehensive, clinically oriented overview of systems neurobiology Offers clear explanations, hundreds of review questions, and supplemental online resources that provide a sound anatomical basis for integrating neurobiological and clinical information Features an abundance of updated and expanded clinical content throughout all chapters to reflect the latest neuroscience knowledge Expands Clinical Syndromes of the Central Nervous System chapter to include a new section featuring Stroke Syndromes Introduces numerous new MRI, CT, MRA, and MRV images, as well as updated full-color photographs and artwork, to bring the content to life like never before Uses contemporary clinical and basic science terminology in its proper context Integrates detailed and richly illustrated coverage of neuroanatomy with neuroscience and clinical concepts, allowing students to understand the material's clinical context and relevance Offers a wealth of neuroimaging examples, clinical photographs, and full-color artwork that vividly demonstrate how neuroanatomy presents in clinical practice Features the masterful teaching of Duane E. Haines, PhD, FAAAS, FAAA, a widely respected and accomplished educator who has helped generations of students master neuroanatomy and neuroscience eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas (5e)
by
Neuroanatomy Through Clinical Cases (2e) (PRINT COPY)
by
Neuroanatomy Through Clinical Cases (3e) (PRINT COPY)
by
Neuroscience (6e) (PRINT COPY)
by
A comprehensive, clearly written textbook that provides a balance of animal and human studies to discuss the dynamic field of neuroscience from cellular signalling to cognitive function.This title is available as an eBook. Visit VitalSource for more information or to purchase.Neuroscience, Sixth Edition is intended primarily for medical, premedical, and undergraduate students. The book's length and accessibility of its writing are a successful combination that has proven to work equally well for medical students and in undergraduate neuroscience courses. Being both comprehensive and authoritative, the book is also appropriate for graduate and professional use.New to This Edition:An expanded Cognitive Neuroscience unit includes new chapters on Attention, Decision Making, and Evolution of Cognitive Functions.Reorganisation across the book enhances continuity.The Neural Signalling unit has been expansively updated.Clinical Applications boxes have been added.Web Essays provide novel or historical topics for special discussion.Note: Each new book includes a one-year subscription to Sylvius 4 Online, which features an interactive tutorial on human neuroanatomy as well as a magnetic resonance imaging atlas of the human brain.
Nolte's the Human Brain: An Introduction to its Functional Anatomy (8e)
by
Throughout seven popular editions, Nolte's The Human Brain has accomplished the challenging task of demystifying the complexities of the gross anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and brainstem. A clear writing style, interesting examples, and high-quality visual cues bring this complicated subject to life and make it more understandable and enjoyable to learn. You'll get the depth of coverage you need with a well-rounded presentation of all key topics in functional neuroanatomy and neuroscience. Features highly templated, concise chapters that reinforce and expand your knowledge. Provides a real-life perspective through clinically relevant examples, up-to-date neuroimaging techniques, and superb illustrations that support and explain the text. Features a glossary of key terms that elucidates every part of the text, complimented by 3-dimensional images of the brain and the most up-to-date terminology throughout. Helps you gauge your mastery of the material and build confidence with over 100 multiple choice questions available online that provide effective chapter review and quick practice for your exams. New! Clinical Focus Boxes, including neuropathology and neuropharmacology. New! Integrated coverage of neurogenetics and neuroimmunology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Principles of Neural Science (5e)
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Now updated: the definitive neuroscience resource--from Eric R. Kandel, MD (winner of the Nobel Prize in 2000); James H. Schwartz, MD, PhD; Thomas M. Jessell, PhD; Steven A. Siegelbaum, PhD; and A. J. Hudspeth, PhD A Doody's Core Title for 2019! 900 full-color illustrations Deciphering the link between the human brain and behavior has always been one of the most intriguing--and often challenging--aspects of scientific endeavor. The sequencing of the human genome, and advances in molecular biology, have illuminated the pathogenesis of many neurological diseases and have propelled our knowledge of how the brain controls behavior. To grasp the wider implications of these developments and gain a fundamental understanding of this dynamic, fast-moving field, Principles of Neuroscience stands alone as the most authoritative and indispensible resource of its kind. In this classic text, prominent researchers in the field expertly survey the entire spectrum of neural science, giving an up-to-date, unparalleled view of the discipline for anyone who studies brain and mind. Here, in one remarkable volume, is the current state of neural science knowledge--ranging from molecules and cells, to anatomic structures and systems, to the senses and cognitive functions--all supported by more than 900 precise, full-color illustrations. In addition to clarifying complex topics, the book also benefits from a cohesive organization, beginning with an insightful overview of the interrelationships between the brain, nervous system, genes, and behavior. Principles of Neural Science then proceeds with an in-depth examination of the molecular and cellular biology of nerve cells, synaptic transmission, and the neural basis of cognition. The remaining sections illuminate how cells, molecules, and systems give us sight, hearing, touch, movement, thought, learning, memories, and emotions. The new fifth edition of Principles of Neural Science is thoroughly updated to reflect the tremendous amount of research, and the very latest clinical perspectives, that have significantly transformed the field within the last decade. Ultimately, Principles of Neural Science affirms that all behavior is an expression of neural activity, and that the future of clinical neurology and psychiatry hinges on the progress of neural science. Far exceeding the scope and scholarship of similar texts, this unmatched guide offers a commanding, scientifically rigorous perspective on the molecular mechanisms of neural function and disease--one that you'll continually rely on to advance your comprehension of brain, mind, and behavior. FEATURES The cornerstone reference in the field of neuroscience that explains how the nerves, brain, and mind function Clear emphasis on how behavior can be examined through the electrical activity of both individual neurons and systems of nerve cells Current focus on molecular biology as a tool for probing the pathogenesis of many neurological diseases, including muscular dystrophy, Huntington disease, and certain forms of Alzheimer's disease More than 900 engaging full-color illustrations--including line drawings, radiographs, micrographs, and medical photographs clarify often-complex neuroscience concepts Outstanding section on the development and emergence of behavior, including important coverage of