Research Guides: PSC 105: Introduction to American Government and Politics: PSC 105

References Online

The following three online references collections are jumping points for starting research.

Political Reference Suite The definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.

Issues and Controversies Essays on today’s crucial issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. A great resource for overview and persuasive papers and speeches.

Oxford Handbook Online for Political Science provide concise factual information on American government, politics and related issues, organized systematically for quick and easy access.

Federalist Papers

Access to the collection of Federalist papers in HeinOnline

Political Science Journal Articles Indexes

WorldWide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration.
Public Administration Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to articles on public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
iPOLL Databank (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Survey data from over 10,000 US and 8,000 international studies. Search tools designed specifically for survey questions–best finding aid for US survey data and one-stop shopping for all major US commercial, media, and academic polls.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large searchable database of legal resources including a collection of Federalist, etc.

Examples

Two to five authors (Kernis, Cornell, Sun, Berry, & Harlow, 1993)
Six or more authors: (Harris et al., 2001)

According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Jones's (1998) study found the following: Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time citing sources. This difficulty could be attributed to the fact that many students failed to purchase a style manual or to ask their teacher for help. (p. 199)

According to Jones (1998), APA style is a difficult citation format for first-time learners.

Examples

Set up your EndNote Web

Research Help

Having roadblocks during your research process? Need help to find appropriate sources to develop your research project? Click the button to make a one-on-one appointment with your librarian Rui Wang, Social Science Librarian / Professor , Email wang1r@cmich.edu