Pros: A reference can be a quick access to a comprehensive overview of topic which delineates important studies in that study field.
Cons: Information from a reference may be outdated because of an older publication date.
This reference examines the role race and ethnicity play in society. Covers intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide. Over a hundred racial and ethnic groups are described, with additional thematic essays offering insight into broad topics that cut across group boundaries and impact society.
This reference examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
This reference source presents data on several hundred indicators of social, economic, political, and cultural developments within the nation. Covers the history of the United States from 1790 to 2007 and includes select data projections through 2050.
There are a number of specialized encyclopedias and references in Gale Virtual Reference Library. Such a reference usually provides an overview about a topic, issue, or concept.
Issues & Controversies is an online collection of articles that written by Facts On File’s own expert writers and editors. Each article includes supporting materials and helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues.
