Research Guides: Administrative Law: Federal Regulations

Chat with Us!

Contact the CMU Libraries

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Schedule a Consultation

Federal Register

The Federal Register is the official source used to notify the public of proposed, temporary, amended and final regulations having general applicability and legal effect, documents required to be published by an act of Congress, federal agency documents of public interest, meeting notices, and Presidential proclamations and executive orders.

Federal Register This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bulletin that contains notices of proposed regulations, and other legal notices issued by federal administrative agencies. It also contains the schedule of hearings before Congressional and federal agency committees, with orders, proclamations, etc., released by the executive branch of the government. Full text coverage from 1936 to the present.

Federal Register
A part of the HeinOnline Federal Register Library.
Federal Register (GPO)
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Federal Register (National Archives)
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper.
Federal Register.gov
FederalRegister.gov is a Bright Idea in Government award winner. The Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation at the JFK School of Government, Harvard University selected it as an innovative initiative.

Code of Federal Regulations

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is a codification (subject arranged version) of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Code of Federal Regulations This link opens in a new window
Subject arranged listing of federal administrative regulations currently in effect.

Code of Federal Regulations
A part of the HeinOnline Federal Register Library.
Code of Federal Regulations-Annual Edition (GPO)
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation
Code of Federal Regulations-National Archives and Records Administration
This version allows the user to browse individual titles and the corresponding tables of contents. Specific citations can be found by using the special citation search form or by using the phrase (" ") search capability on the keyword form.
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: e-CFR.(GPO)
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a current, daily updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an unofficial editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments."

Agency Decisions

Administrative Decisions & Guidance
Decisions of administrative units such as tribunals, boards or commissions of government involved in rule making, adjudication, or enforcement.
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
Decisions and other documents from various federal agencies.

Combined Publications

Office of the Federal Register
The OFR functions as the Secretariat for the ACFR, and is a component of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). NARA is joined in a statutory partnership with the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) to provide Federal Register publications and services to the public under the Federal Register Act (44 U.S.C. Ch. 15), the GPO Access legislation (44 U.S.C. 4101), and related public information laws of the United States. This web site is an e-Government service of the NARA/GPO partnership.

Subject Librarian

Jennifer Rundels

Email Me

Contact:

Park Library 216

(989) 774-6701

Subjects: Business (Companies), Business (Consumer Markets), Business (Industries), Business Administration, Management, Marketing