Research Guides: Statistics and Datasets: Statistics

CMU Libraries' Collection

DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for people, businesses, or access a demographic report on any geography – or compare multiple geographies - for information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more. Tutorial
iPOLL Databank (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database specifically for survey questions–best finding aid for US survey data and all major US commercial, media, and academic polls. Learn How to Use iPOLL
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
an online collection of articles that written by Facts On File’s own expert writers and editors. Each article includes supporting materials and helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues. Some articles include statistical information.
See an example
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
an online resource covering social issues including more than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays, 5 million articles, nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs, 70,000 images, and other multimedia.
See an example
Statistics Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is a guide to current sources of factual quantitative information on more than 20,000 specific subjects, incorporating almost 135,000 citations and more than 1,600 sources.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Insights and facts across 600 industries and 50+ countries
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history

Statistics come from governments or organizations, scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, websites, books, statistical databases, etc. Published research articles representing the most common source for research literature. Use this link https://libguides.cmich.edu/?b=s to find the disciplinary journal indexes

APA Style:

1. Citing Reference In text:

(see Table 3 of U.S. Department of Labor, 2007, for complete data)

2. Reference List

APA does not provide examples of statistics citations. The basic form of citation can be,

Author. (Year), Title [Data file]. Retrieved from http://......

Statistical Abstracts of the United States

Although Abstracts provide APA citation for each table, the citatio need to be refomated as the following:

itlisize the table title,
replace the url to the "Durabile URL" provided the Abstracts database on the PDF file,
hanging all lines after the first line.

ProQuest Statistical Insight

DemographicsNow

DemographicsNow. (2014). Detroit, MI and New York household comparison [Data]. Retrieved October 5, 2014, from DemographicsNow database.

DemographicsNow. (2014). Whole Foods [Company profile]. Retrieved June, 17 2014, from DemographicsNow database.

iPOLL Databank

iPOLL provides its citations, which is neither APA or MLA. You can ask your professor to allow you use the iPOLL ciations, or follow the basic form to reformat them into APA ciations. The basic form is,

Author. (Year), Title [Data file]. Retrieved from http://......

U.S. Census / American FactFinder

More about citing American FactFinder