Research Guides: WGS 100: Statistical Sources

Contact the CMU Libraries

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Schedule a Consultation

Chat with Us!

Statistical Sources

Statistical abstract of the United States
Call Number: Online

Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Essays on today’s crucial issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. A great resource for overview and persuasive papers and speeches.
DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search for people, businesses, or access a demographic report on any geography – or compare multiple geographies - for information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This series takes a pro-con approach to today’s social issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. It's the perfect resource when you have to take one side of a debate or have to write a persuasive essay.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Hein’s premier online research product with more than 70 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Hein Online indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories including bills and laws, constitutions, regulations, legislature membership, public policy, state newspapers of record, and more. The database is divided into collections. The collections include: the Law Journal Library, Federal Regulation Libraries, the Treaties and Agreements Library, the U.S. Supreme Court Library, Religion and the Law, Women and the Law, plus books containing legal classics. It bridges the gap in history by providing coverage from inception of over 2,000 periodicals.

US Census Bureau
The Census Bureau is the federal government’s statistical agency that provides current facts and figures about America’s people, places, and economy.

Subject Librarian

Aparna Zambare

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

214 Park Library

(989) 774 6427

Subjects: Biographies, Children's Literature, English Language & Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Theatre & Dance, Women and Gender Studies

Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is widely regarded as the most significant dictionary of the English language, offering the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words —past and present— from across the English-speaking world.