Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find An Article
There are many online resources relating to the study of American military history. This list of resources, while by no means exhaustive, provides a basic starting point for research on the impact of the military in American history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940 This link opens in a new window
Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, including 118 periodicals published during the Civil War.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transitional Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains 1.5 million pages, including more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections. Explores all facets of the controversy with a focus on economic, gender, legal, religious and government issues.
Gilded Age, The This link opens in a new window
Spanning from 1865 to 1902, The Gilded Age provides insight into the key issues that shaped America in the late nineteenth century, including race and ethnicity, immigration, labor, women's rights, American Indians, political corruption, and monetary policy.
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Searchable index to the contents of Harper's Weekly magazine, beginning in 1857.
New York Times, 1851-2017 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Search the complete text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2017 for PDF images of original articles which include photographs and drawings
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Find a Specific Article or Journal