HST 200: Medieval Civilization: Web Resources

"The Internet Archive is a non-profit informational entity that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."

Designed for history educators and students, this useful portal provides access to more than 700 of the best history resources online. Sites are organized into 10 categories—Prehistory, Ancient/Biblical, Medieval, U.S History, Early Modern European, 20th Century, World War II, Art History, General Resources, and Maps.

This website is part of the Yale University Avalon Project. It provides full-text access to important documents from the Medieval period until 1399.

This website is part of the Yale University Avalon Project. It provides full-text access to important documents from the late Medieval period from 1400-1499..

Epistolae is a collection of letters to and from women dating from the 4th to the 13th century AD. These letters from the Middle Ages, written in Latin, are presented with English translations and are organized by the women participating. Biographical sketches of the women and descriptions of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter is included where available.

The Internet History Sourcebooks are wonderful collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use by Paul Halsall. The site and its documents are well organized and the breadth of materials is impressive. The Internet Medieval Sourcebook is organized as three main index pages, with a number of supplementary documents. There is an index of selected and excerpted texts for teaching purposes, a help page on use of the Sourcebook for research questions, a section devoted to secondary articles, texts on the history of law, copy-permitted maps and images, a guide to medieval-themed films and music, and more. The Sourcebooks are unevenly maintained, so expect some broken links.

This extensive database website explores the role of Christian women in the religion and society of medieval Europe. Its content includes profiles of women’s religious communities in medieval Europe; dozens of primary source texts; brief biographies of religious women; hundreds of images of architecture, sculpture, and book illumination and other objects. It also features a glossary and a listing of secondary sources.