HST 222WI: Cherokees, Slaves, Racial Justice: Web Resources: General

Created by UShistory.org this website includes context and connections to related websites.

Materials accessible in this large collection are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Provides full-text access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

"The Internet Archive is a non-profit informational entity that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."

The archival search engine of the National Archives that provides online full-text access to important documents dealing with American history and foreign policy.

A World-wide resource that covers over two centuries, with links to digitized copies of the original texts for the older publications (where available, Google links to the newspapers' own online archives).

A "gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for high school and college students and teachers of American history." Originally developed by the American Social History Project/Center for Media & Learning, City University of New York, and the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University

The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (CWSS) is a database containing information about the men who served in the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War. Other information on the site includes histories of Union and Confederate regiments, links to descriptions of significant battles, and selected lists of prisoner-of-war records and cemetery records, which will be amended over time. The CWSS is a cooperative effort between the National Park Service and several public and private partners whose goal is to increase Americans' understanding of this decisive era in American history by making information about it widely accessible.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Founded in 1855 and continued until 1922, it was an American illustrated literary and news publication, and one of several started by publisher and illustrator Frank Leslie. These volumes are available from the Hathi Trust archive at the University of Michigan.