Research Guides: ENG 101: Freshman Composition for Dr. Geoffrey Johns: Statistics and Data

Statistics and Data

Census Bureau
The Census Bureau provides data about the nation's people and economy.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
The National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
World Health Organization
Working through offices in more than 150 countries, WHO staff work with governments and other partners to ensure the highest attainable level of health for all people.

ICPSR Data Archive This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and data sets in the world's largest archive of computerized social science data
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Essays on today’s crucial issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. A great resource for overview and persuasive papers and speeches.
iPOLL Databank (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research) This link opens in a new window
Survey data from over 10,000 US and 8,000 international studies. Search tools designed specifically for survey questions–best finding aid for US survey data and one-stop shopping for all major US commercial, media, and academic polls.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Offers full text coverage to thousands of news databases arranged geographically and topically, hundreds of newswires as well as business, trade, and professional publications. Full text access to federal and state case and statutory law, and European Union information.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Hein’s premier online research product with more than 70 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Hein Online indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories including bills and laws, constitutions, regulations, legislature membership, public policy, state newspapers of record, and more. The database is divided into collections. The collections include: the Law Journal Library, Federal Regulation Libraries, the Treaties and Agreements Library, the U.S. Supreme Court Library, Religion and the Law, Women and the Law, plus books containing legal classics. It bridges the gap in history by providing coverage from inception of over 2,000 periodicals.

Government Documents on Google
Just perform a simple Google search to find your policy; but be sure to limit your search to ".gov" domain from the Advanced Search screen provided here.

Library Smart Search

Subject Librarian

Aparna Zambare

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

214 Park Library

(989) 774 6427

Subjects: Biographies, Children's Literature, English Language & Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Theatre & Dance, Women and Gender Studies

Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is widely regarded as the most significant dictionary of the English language, offering the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words —past and present— from across the English-speaking world.