Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CMU Libraries' Collection
- The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (1815-2016 excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945) Political, Legislative and Economic Data on Domestic Conflict Events: Assassinations, Revolutions, Riots, General Strikes, Terrorism/Guerrilla Warfare, Major Government Crises, Anti-Government Demonstrations and Purges
- Data Citation Index Web of Science Data Citation Index includes bibliographic metadata from research data in Data Studies and Data Sets from a wide range of international data repositories.
- DemographicsNow Search for people, businesses, or access a demographic report on any geography – or compare multiple geographies - for information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more.
- General Social Survey (GSS) contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. GSS home page
- Latin American Databank locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Life Sciences Datasets This research guide provides links to data repositories in the life sciences and will allow you to download existing datasets for your research.
- Simmons Insights (Formerly MRI University Reporter) Studies on American consumers. Key magazine planning data resources, summary tables of key audience and product usage data from national probability samples.This resource is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- Roper Center Data various topic and collections, such as elections, presidents, Latin American Databank, etc.
Datasets by Subject
DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search for people, businesses, or access a demographic report on any geography – or compare multiple geographies - for information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more.
ICPSR - County Business Patterns (1967+)
Summary statistics extracted from the Census Bureau's Standard Statistical Establishment List (SSEL). Provide data on the total number of establishments, mid-March employment, first quarter and annual payroll, and the number of establishments by employment-size class for all business establishments with one or more paid employees.
Kauffman Firm Survey (KFS)
The Kauffman Firm Survey (KFS) is a panel study of 4,928 businesses founded in 2004 and tracked over their early years of operation. The survey focuses on the nature of new business formation activity; characteristics of the strategy, offerings, and employment patterns of new businesses; the nature of the financial and organizational arrangements of these businesses; and the characteristics of their founders.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits
"MRI clients also get access to our Reporter database that provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from our national probability sample of 25,000+ households."
US Census Bureau - Business Dynamics Statistics
The Business Dynamics Statistics (BDS) annual data series describes establishment–level business dynamics along dimensions absent from similar databases including firm age and firm size (1976-2010).
- The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive Political, Legislative and Economic Data on Domestic Conflict Events: Assassinations, Revolutions, Riots, General Strikes, Terrorism/Guerrilla Warfare, Major Government Crises, Anti-Government Demonstrations and Purges
Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR)
A project supported by the Demographic and Behavioral Sciences Branch of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.
IPUMS, NHGIS, and more
Integrated Public User Microdata Series (IPUMS) art of dataset collection by Minnesota Population Center (MPC) at University of Minnesota. The MPC is one of the world's leading developers of demographic data resources. We provide population data to thousands of researchers, policymakers, teachers, and students.
An online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
United States Census Data
Provide decennial census and surveys intercensal years
- Economy at a Glance - Bureau of Labor Statistics
Recent BLS data on labor, employment, and prices.
Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS)
A program of the BLS that "produces monthly and annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data ... by place of residence" (i.e., a household survey
, not by place of employment).
Wide variety of socioeconomic datasets from the National Bureau of Economic Research.
Includes major UN databases and those of several related IGO's.
DataRefuge a community-driven, collaborative project to preserve public climate and environmental data.
DataONE a community driven program providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data.
Environmental Data Initiative "The EDI Data Portal contains environmental and ecological data packages contributed by a number of participating organizations."
National Election Studies
Oldest continuous series of survey data investigating electoral behavior and attitudes in the United States. The focus of the survey includes voter perceptions of the major political parties, the candidates, national and international issues, and of the importance of the election. Also explored are voter expectations about the outcome of the election, degree of voter interest in politics, political affiliation and voting history, as well as participation in the electoral process. ANES interviews are conducted before and after presidential elections and after national congressional elections. Post-election interviews include questions on actual voting behavior and voter reflections about the election outcome.
Dave Leip’s Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
"The Atlas is a free internet resource providing results of U.S. Presidential Elections to the world community. Data is collected from many official sources and presented here in one convenient location." For added convenience, downloadable Excel files
may be licensed to individuals or organizations.
Harvard Election Data Archive
The Harvard Election Data Archive is a space to share and improve election data. You can create an account and either correct the cataloging information for the studies in this dataverse or upload new data files.
USA Counties Data File Downloads
A free site, dates to 1980. It contains data of presidential election returns by county.
American Housing Survey Series
The American Housing Surveys (AHS), prior to 1984 called the Annual Housing Surveys, were first conducted in 1973 by the United States Bureau of the Census. This series comprises two types of data collections: a national survey of housing units, and surveys of housing units in selected metropolitan areas.
HUD.GOV - DATA SETS
HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID)
The Panel Study of Income Dynamics - PSID - is the longest running longitudinal household survey in the world.The study began in 1968 with a nationally representative sample of over 18,000 individuals living in 5,000 families in the United States.The PSID is currently funded by the several organizations, National Science Foundation, National Institute on Aging, etc.
Council of European Social Science Data Archives is an umbrella organization for social science data archives across Europe.
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
2013 Biennial ICPSR Meeting - Select Free Sources for International microdata
International Human Development Indicators
The human development data utilized in the preparation of the Human Development Index (HDI) and other composite indices featured in the Human Development Report are provided by a variety of public international sources and represent the best and most current statistics available for those indicators at the time of the preparation of this annual report. Calculations of HDI values and country rankings are the sole responsibility of the Human Development Report Office.
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products.
International Social Survey Program (ISSP)
The ISSP is a continuing annual programme of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics important for social science research. It brings together pre-existing social science projects and coordinates research goals, thereby adding a cross-national, cross-cultural perspective to the individual national studies.
Kenya is the first developing country to have an open government data portal, the first in sub-Saharan Africa and second on the continent after Morocco. On July 8 2011, President Mwai Kibaki launched the Kenya Open Data Initiative, making key government data freely available to the public through a single online portal. The 2009 census, national and regional expenditure, and information on key public services are some of the first datasets to be released.
Since 1984, the Monitoring and Evaluation to Assess and Use Results Demographic and Health Surveys (MEASURE DHS) project has provided technical assistance to more than 260 surveys in over 90 countries, advancing global understanding of health and population trends in developing countries.
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/).
UNICEF - Childinfo Monitoring the Situation of Children and Women
UNICEF supports countries to collect data on the situation of children and women through the Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey (MICS) programme. Since the initiation of the programme, three rounds of surveys have been carried out (1995, 2000 and 2005-6). Altogether, nearly 200 MICS surveys in approximately 100 countries have been implemented. The next round of surveys (MICS4) is scheduled for 2009-2011 and survey results are expected to be available from 2010 on. Each round of surveys builds upon the last and offers new indicators to monitor current priorities in addition to monitoring trends.
World Bank Data
The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog.
World Health Organization Data
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. Its portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation.
County and City Data Book
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000).
Detroit Area Studies
The Detroit Area Studies series was initiated in 1951 at the University of Michigan and was carried out nearly every year until 2004. The purpose of these surveys was to provide practical social research training for graduate students and reliable data on the Greater Detroit community. Each survey probed a different aspect of personal and public life, economic and political behavior, political attitudes, professional and family life, and living experiences in the Detroit metropolitan area.
Michigan Census Research Data Center
A joint project of the U.S. Bureau of the Census and the University of Michigan to enable qualified researchers with approved projects to access confidential, unpublished Census data.
Institute for Public Policy and Social Research (IPPSR) - SSOS Data
The State of the State Survey (SOSS) Data by the Institute for Public Policy and Social Research at Michigan State University is an ongoing resource which allows policymakers, MSU faculty, and SOSS sponsors to tap into the perceptions of Michigan adults on a quarterly basis.
Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA)
CPANDA is the world's first interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.
The Institute for Policy Research Survey Research Center (University of Cincinnati)
UC’s Institute for Policy Research (IPR) fills a unique niche within public higher education in Ohio. Unlike other academic centers, the IPR focuses on the production of public policy research. The IPR has engaged in public policy research through innovation, partnership, and research excellence for over thirty-five years.
Policy Agendas Project
The Policy Agendas Project is an ambitious attempt to provide truly comparable measures of policy changes in the United States since the Second World War. This project is made possible with support from the National Science Foundation, the University of Texas at Austin, University of Washington, the Pennsylvania State University and Texas A&M University.
OECD Data Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all.
Roper Center's Dataset Collection
A collection of public opinion survey datasets in the world by the Roper Center is accessible thousands of individual-level datasets based on surveys conducted since the 1930s including over 11,000 US studies and almost as many surveys from other countries.
The Eagleton Center for Public Interest Polling (ECPIP) (Rutgers University)
ECPIP manages the Rutgers-Eagleton Poll, established in 1971 as one of the nation's first university-based statewide public opinion polls. The Center also undertakes other survey research in the public interest and designs opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students to learn how to read, analyze, design and administer polls.
Marist Institute for Public Opinion (Marist College)
The Marist Institute for Public Opinion (MIPO) is a survey research center at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, New York. Founded in 1978, MIPO is home to the Marist Poll and regularly measures public opinion at the local, state, and national level.
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
Strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion.
Odum Institute Data Archive (University of North Carolina)
The Odum Archive Data Library is physically located in the basement of Manning Hall; however, almost all of the data files and their associated documentation are downloadable directly from the Institute's Web-based Dataverse Catalog.
The Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN)
A university-based organization that creates demographic media (such as user guides, web sites, and hands-on classroom computer materials) that make U.S. census data accessible to policymakers, educators, the media, and informed citizens.
Data Visualization Gallery
The posted visualizations will pertain largely to historical population data, building on prior work done to portray historical changes in the growth and redistribution of the U.S. population.
How to Interpreting SPSS Output
A Guide to Interpreting SPSS Output - How to interpret frequency distributions, crosstabulations, comparison of means tests, correlations, and OLS regressions done in SPSS. Used in teaching undergraduate Introduction to Statistics course.
Datasets by other providers
- DATA.gov Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
- Data Sheets by PRB "Search hundreds of indicators, thousands of locations, and easily create custom reports to print, download, and share."
- Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study The Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study is following a cohort of nearly 5,000 children born in large U.S. cities between 1998 and 2000 (roughly three-quarters of whom were born to unmarried parents) by Princeton University
- IPUMS Integrated Public User Microdata Series by Minnesota Population Center (MPC) at University of Minnesota.
- Medeley Data Search 10.3 million datasets from domain-specific and cross-domain repositories
- MDRC Created in 1974 by the Ford Foundation and a group of federal agencies, MDRC is best known for mounting large-scale demonstrations and evaluations of real-world policies and programs targeted to low-income people.
- The Panel Study of Income Dynamics - PSID - is the longest running longitudinal household survey in the world. The study began in 1968 with a nationally representative sample of over 18,000 individuals living in 5,000 families in the United States.
- UK Data Service the UK's largest collection of economic, social and population data for research and teaching.
- UNICEF plays a central role in monitoring the situation of children and women – by assisting countries in collecting and analyzing data.
How to cite datasets?
- Cite ICPSR datasets This page offers guidelines and best practices for citing social science research data in order to promote vigorous and consistent attribution of datasets.
- DataCite provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data and other research outputs.
- APA Style - APA general rule (see the description in APA Manual p. 210-211) An example: