PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Bioethics (4e) by 
Clinical Ethics: A Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical Medicine (9e) by
The go-to textbook on the increasingly important and rapidly evolving topic of medical ethics Ethical issues are embedded in every clinical encounter between patients and clinicians. In order to practice excellent clinical care, clinicians must understand ethical issues such as informed consent, decisional capacity, surrogate decision making, truth telling, confidentiality, privacy, the distinction between research and clinical care, and end-of-life care. This popular, clinically-oriented guide provides crystal-clear case-based coverage of the ethical situations encountered in everyday medical practice. Clinical Ethics introduces the proven Four Box Method--a much-needed pattern for collecting, sorting, and ordering the facts of a clinical ethical problem. This easy-to-apply system is based on simple questions about medical indications, patient preferences, quality of life, and contextual features that explain clinical ethics and help clinicians formulate a sound diagnosis and treatment strategy. In each chapter, the authors discuss case examples and provide analysis, comments, and specific recommendations. The book is divided into the four topics that constitute the essential ethical structure of every clinical encounter: Medical Indications, Preferences of Patients Quality of Life Contextual Features
Clinical Ethics: A Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical Medicine (8e) by 
Designing Clinical Research (4e) by 
Easy Interpretation of Biostatistics: The Vital Link to Applying Evidence in Medical Decisions by
Learn biostatistics the easy way. This outstanding resource presents the key concepts you need to understand biostatistics and how to apply them in clinical medicine. Easy-to-understand examples and analogies explain complex concepts, and practical applications provide you with real tools for use in daily practice. The book's organization is intuitive, so that concepts build upon one another, maximizing understanding. This book will give you the confidence to appraise the existing literature - and the vocabulary you need to discuss it. Uses an easy-to-understand presentation and writing style to make the material easily accessible. Places its emphasis on concepts, not formulas, for more clinical-based guidance. Focuses on practical applications of biostatistics to medical practice to give you a better understanding of how and why research is conducted. Presents concise but comprehensive coverage to create easily accessible yet complete information. Provides examples, analogies, and memorization tips to make the material easier to absorb.
Evidence-Based Medical Ethics: Cases for Practice-Based Learning by
In the modern practice of medicine, new challenges complicate the ethical care of patients. Today's times require a contemporary take on the concept of medical ethics. The idea for this textbook was born out of a need for a teaching resource that merges medical ethics theory with the practical needs of modern clinical medicine. In Evidence-Based Medical Ethics: Cases for Practice-Based Learning, the authors address what has been missing in existing text books and ethics courses to date - clear-cut ethical and legal guidelines that provide a method for the reader to learn how to systematically manage dilemmas seen in the everyday practice of medicine. The reader is guided through several "typical" patient scenarios and prompted by various questions that should be entertained by the treating health care provider. Then, relevant evidence-based medicine, legal precedent, and the ethical theory that applies to the situation are revealed. Often, finding the "best" ethical solution for each problem is automatic, as the solution often becomes self-evident during information-gathering. This general method is reinforced throughout the text with multiple different cases, using a practice-based approach by building on the reader's developing skills. Additionally, we have sought to emphasize a culturally competent manner in resolving these dilemmas, respectfully addressing issues of age, gender, and culture whenever possible. The main goal of Evidence-Based Medical Ethics: Cases for Practice-Bases Learning is to assist the reader in adapting a patient-centered and evidence-based approach to dilemmas faced in their future practice of medicine.
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine (5e) by
The best-selling introduction to evidence-based medicine In a clear and engaging style, How to Read a Paper demystifies evidence-based medicine and explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice. An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice. This fifth edition has been fully updated with new examples and references to reflect recent developments and current practice. It also includes two new chapters on applying evidence-based medicine with patients and on the common criticisms of evidence-based medicine and responses. How to Read a Paper is a standard text for medical and nursing schools as well as a friendly guide for everyone wanting to teach or learn the basics of evidence-based medicine.
Resolving Ethical Dilemmas: A Guide for Clinicians (6e) by
What are the ethical issues raised by the increasing use of big data and artificial intelligence in health care? How should physicians respond when they have a conscientious objection to an intervention requested by a patient? How should health care organizations respond to physician requests? How can physicians best help patients make informed decisions about end-of-life and life-sustaining care? How should interns and residents respond to ethical dilemmas created by duty hours restrictions? Resolving Ethical Dilemmas: A Guide for Clinicians helps residents, students, and practitioners work through these and many more common and challenging ethical questions that affect patient care. The 6th Edition reflects important changes in medicine and healthcare policy and provides additional clarity to complex concepts. Offering practical, real-world advice, it helps you think through and resolve difficult cases, prompting thoughtful, well-reasoned answers to the question of "What do I do in this situation?" Begins with a concise discussion of clinical ethics that provides background information essential to understanding key ethical issues. Explores a wide range of real-world ethical dilemmas, each accompanied by expert guidance on salient issues and how to approach them. Provides new insights on cases related to oncology, palliative care, family medicine, clinical practice guidelines, genetic testing, the electronic health record, opioid prescriptions, evidence-based medicine, ambulatory care, quality improvement, and advance care planning. Helps you work thorough challenges such as how to handle changes arising from the Affordable Care Act, how to manage treatment when it no longer works for the patient, and much more. Uses a highly visual, two-color design to facilitate retention of material. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach (8e) by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted and comprehensive guide to the healthcare system--fully updated with the latest changes and trends Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach provides everything you need to master the healthcare system's nuances and complexities, work more effectively with other members of healthcare teams, and identify areas in need of change. Written by practicing primary care physicians who are experts in healthcare policy, this peerless guide covers the entire scope of the U.S. healthcare system and draws on lessons from systems in other nations. The authors carefully weave key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples into chapters that make vital health policy issues interesting and understandable. Whether you're a student, medical practitioner, or public policy professional, you will come away with a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about our healthcare system, its biggest challenges, and the most effective ways of making it better for everyone. Features * Covers every aspect of healthcare, including finance, organization, and reimbursement * Delivers updated information on the Affordable Care Act, Accountable Care Organizations, and system consolidation * Provides new insights into the role of social determinants in patient health * Clinical vignettes highlight key policy issues and clarify difficult concepts