Research Guides: Medical Subject Areas: Medical Datasets and Statistics

NLM Dataset Catalog

Dataset Catalog
The Dataset Catalog is a catalog of biomedical datasets from various repositories for users to search, discover, retrieve, and connect with datasets to accelerate scientific research. This beta version aims to collect user feedback to inform future product development.

Medical Datasets

These are resources that provide downloadable datasets, searchable databases, and directories. Many of these resources focus specifically on biomedical fields of study; some may also contain statistical reports.

AAMC Data
From the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)
Area Health Resources Files (AHRF)
From the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Biologic Specimen and Data Repository Information Coordinating Center (BioLINCC)
From the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
CDC WONDER Online Databases
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
ClinicalTrials.gov
From the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) US National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Data and Statistics
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Data Set Directory of Social Determinants of Health at the Local Level
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention; adapted from Hillemeier MM, Lynch J, Harper S, Casper M.
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
From the University of Washington Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data Repository
From the World Health Organization (WHO)
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
From the US Department of Health and Human Services Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HCUP includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States.
HealthData.gov Datasets
From the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
Health Information Gateway
From the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Office on Women's Health (OWH)
ICPSR Data
From the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Interactive Database Systems
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Surveillance Resource Center
MiTracking
Part of the CDC National Tracking Network, the Michigan Environmental Public Health Tracking (MiTracking) Program gathers existing Michigan-specific environmental and health data and provides them in one online location. Results are provided in tables, charts, and maps that can be downloaded, saved, and printed.
NIDDK Central Repository
From the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
NIH Data Sharing Repositories
From the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) US National Library of Medicine (NLM)
NINDS Archived Clinical Research Datasets
From the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
NMQF Health Indexes
From the National Minority Quality Forum
Public-Use Data Files and Documentation
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results Program (SEER) US Datasets
From the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Synthea
SyntheaTM is an open-source, synthetic patient generator that models the medical history of synthetic patients. Our mission is to provide high-quality, synthetic, realistic but not real, patient data and associated health records covering every aspect of healthcare.
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI)
From the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
UK Biobank
Supported by the United Kingdom National Health Service (NHS)
Vivli
Vivli is an independent, non-profit organization that has developed a global data-sharing and analytics platform. Our focus is on sharing individual participant-level data from completed clinical trials to serve the international research community.

Medical Statistics

These are statistical reports in the field of medicine. Some resources that are primarily statistical resources may also contain a limited number of datasets.

America's Health Rankings
From the United Health Foundation
Community Health Maps
From the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Data and Statistics
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
FastStats Statistics by Topic
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Healthcare Occupations
From the US Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
Health Reform: By the Numbers
From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF)
Health Statistics and Reports
From the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS)
Healthy People 2030
From the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) HealthyPeople.gov
Henry J Kaiser Family Foundation Database
From the Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)
Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities
From the US Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
NICHSR Health Services Research & Public Health Information Programs
From the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Our World in Data
From the University of Oxford Global Change Data Lab
Statistical Abstract of the United States 2019 Online Edition
From ProQuest
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results Program (SEER)
From the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Surveys and Data Collection Systems
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Vital Statistics Online Data Portal
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)

Working with Clinical Data

Clinical Trials Data Primer
Data Curation Network
Genomic Data Sharing Policy
NIH
Scientific Data Sharing
NIH
Sharing Data from Human Participants
NIH

Medical Subject Areas: Medical Datasets and Statistics

Health Data in Generalist Repositories

NLM Dataset Catalog

Medical Datasets

Medical Statistics

Working with Clinical Data