Medical Library Services: Medical Databases A-Z

Provides fast, direct access to the information necessary for completing emergency care evaluations, diagnosis, and care management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.

Provides access to information necessary to complete evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, self-assessments, and board reviews.

Offers the latest information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care, wellness, and alternative therapies.

This is a video guide to performing clinical physical examinations, drawn from the textbook Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination. Also included are videos designed for helping to prepare for the Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE).

User must create an account using the @cmich.edu email.

An interactive, high-quality, effective and powerful board review tool that can be used by practicing clinicians, residents and several types of healthcare students. With BoardVitals, you have the ability to create customized practice tests using many options including number or questions, subjects and more. Included are detailed, up-to-date explanations with each answer, with references and links to applicable sources.

Provides indexing for more than 2,700 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.

Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.

Unlimited user access to all titles.

Contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making

Provides general consumer-oriented health information on a variety of topics, including alternatives medicines.

Iinternational coverage dating back to 1988 of an enormous range of public health subjects, including pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity. Particularly of interest to public library users, the public health topics covered in the collection range from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Provided by over 190 publishers, over 350 full-text magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade publications and over 300 health video clips from INTELECOM are included in the collection.

An evidence-based clinical reference tool providing graded overviews and recommendations. Includes general information, epidemiology, etiology & pathogenesis, history & physical, diagnosis, treatment, complications & prognosis, prevention & screening, quality improvement, guidelines & resources, patient information, ICD9/ICD 10 Codes, and evidence-based graded references.

Includes more than 3300 full-length streaming videos on health and medicine.

This collection provides a unique mix of training content, scholarly literature, and clinical reference materials which makes it accessible for undergraduates, medical students, and all others preparing for a career in healthcare.

Provides articles on all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.

Offers international coverage to provide health administration researchers, hospital libraries, and health authorities with the highest quality content, much of which is not available elsewhere, from over 260 publishers. Content featured includes over 6,000 specialist doctoral dissertations and theses and over 1,100 reports from Business Monitor International related to the health care industry.

This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.

Interactive online access to over 50 textbooks on core/fundamental topics, plus procedural videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks for medical and health science students and practitioners.

Medline comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from life science journals.

This database provides full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE. Many journals are available with no embargo, allowing doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers to access to the information as soon as it is published.

The primary drug information database used by many hospitals and healthcare systems. Includes in-depth drug monographs and patient education information.

Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health professions, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.

Offers complete access to the full text of more than 80 journals in the sciences and related fields (including education, nursing, business, and neuroscience) from the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group (English-language titles).

A leading online source of journal and book information on psychiatry and related sub-specialties. Includes access to the DSM-V.

Coverage of research in applied psychology, developmental psychology, personality, and more.

Provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.

Core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences. In addition, resources provide insights into important topics such as biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, health services administration, international public health, maternal and child health, and occupational safety and health.

PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

The R2 Digital Library is an electronic book product from Rittenhouse Book Distributors offering medicine, nursing and allied health content from key health science publishers.

Consists of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information, as well as bibliographic data.

Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.

Articles about recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.

This evidence-based resource provides quick, best-evidence summaries and answers to clinical questions concerning symptoms, disease, and treatments. It also includes the drug information resource AHFS DI Essentials, which focuses on an evidence-based foundation for safe and effective drug therapy.

The premier research platform to find and analyze scholarly research literature on Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.