The databases listed below are great jumping-off points for your research about social problems and possible solutions. Check out Databases by Subject for even more resources related to your chosen social problem.
This link opens in a new windowSociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies
This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing for more than 2,700 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
A great source for scholarly articles, reports, and other information on Educational topics.
This link opens in a new windowSocial work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowCoverage of research in applied psychology, developmental psychology, personality, and more.
The print encyclopedias in the library's collection will be most useful for this project. See your assignment sheet for a complete list.
They are located in the reference section on the 2nd floor of the Park Library and typically have call numbers in the REF N31- REF N40 range.
This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, along with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. The database includes contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Consider searching Smart Search for information on the writer's career. Biographies about the author may help you place the work you are examining in the larger context of their career. You may also find forwards in various editions of the novel you are studying useful.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles, and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains more than 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers.
This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.
This link opens in a new windowA database of humanities and social science content. Offers complete, full-text versions of more than 700 scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies and more than 60,000 books from more than 100 publishers.
This link opens in a new windowBiographical information and critical essays on novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and others. Includes the contents of Children’s Literature Review (CLR), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 (LC), Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism (NCLC), and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC).
