ENG 201: Intermediate Composition: Other Online Resources

This is just one of several authoritative sources the Library has for finding full-text biographical information on artists, athletes, musicians, politicians, writers, you name (the person)! Find more biographical databases under "Biographies" on the Library's Virtual Reference Collection page.

Whatever your educational or occupational goals, the resources in this database will help you succeed. Each Learning Center offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information pertaining to different career fields (e.g., Culinary Arts, EMT, Law Enforcement, etc.), military entrance tests, and graduate school exams (e.g., GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, etc.). Students can create personal accounts in this database to save searches and results.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.

Search U.S. Census data and other statistics compiled and kept by the government including the American Community Survey, American Housing Survey, Decennial Census, and Equal Employment Opportunity Tabulation, among other sources.

Survey data from over 10,000 US and 8,000 international studies. Search tools designed specifically for survey questions–best finding aid for US survey data and one-stop shopping for all major US commercial, media, and academic polls.

A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.

A variety of Michigan demographic data culled from the U.S. Census is provided.

The Department of Community Health is responsible for the collection of information on a range of health related issues. The information is collected to monitor the general health and well-being of Michigan's citizens. These data are useful for health program development, targeting and evaluation of program progress. The information is used to identify emerging health issues and trends and can be made available for epidemiological research. Statistics are developed from the data collected to provide basic information on these health events in Michigan. The data are provided at the state, county and community level.

Produced by the CIA, access demographic, geographic, and economic data for countries around the world.