Betty A. McDonald Children's Literature Collection: About the Collection

Children's Literature URL: https://libguides.cmich.edu/childrensliterature

Jim & Betty A. McDonald

"I think it's very important for children to learn to appreciate books for purposes of entertainment and knowledge" Betty A. McDonald, 1941 CMU alumna 

Image and Quote Source: Reference Point, March 2009

About the Collection

The Betty A. McDonald Children’s Literature Collection is full of over 25,000 volumes of outstanding works for young people. The collection consists of picture books as well as fiction and nonfiction books for children and young adults. It is located on the 4th floor of Park Library.  Many of the books contained in the collection are award-winning titles of prestigious children’s literature prizes such as the Caldecott, Newbery, and Coretta Scott King awards. The selection criteria for materials contained in the collection are very rigorous. The majority of these books have been favorably reviewed and have achieved the status of recommended books on published lists such as School Library Journal’s starred reviews and the Rainbow List.

The Betty A. McDonald Children’s Literature collection is supported by a generous endowment established in 2009 by Betty A. McDonald, a 1941 CMU alumna. The gift provides an annual subsidy to purchase new and replacement books for the collection. Betty A. McDonald grew up in Saginaw, Michigan and studied at CMU to become a teacher. She had an understanding and a deep appreciation of children’s literature.

Our hope is  that you will enjoy and grow to appreciate this wonderful collection of children’s materials during your time at Central Michigan University. 

Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy