Resources related to the subject of History
- America, History & Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
- Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
- U.S. History Collection
Over 40 journals provides balanced coverage of both the current thought and events in US History.
- World History Collection
Coverage of both the current thought and events in World History.
- American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900
Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, including 118 periodicals published during the Civil War.
- The American Civil War Research Database
The definitive online resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Contains information on more than four million soldiers and thousands of battles. Includes photographs, regimental rosters, and officer profiles.
- America's Historical Imprints
Collection of digitized text and images from 17th and 18th century America.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Offers more than 200 significant 18th and 19th-century newspapers and focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
Contains more than 32,000 items written in Europe about the Americas, including exploration, portrayals of Native Americans, natural disasters, outbreaks of disease, and slavery.
- The Gilded Age
Spanning from 1865 to 1902, The Gilded Age provides insight into the key issues that shaped America in the late nineteenth century, including race and ethnicity, immigration, labor, women's rights, American Indians, political corruption, and monetary policy.
- HeritageQuest Online
Family and local history documents and U.S. census data.
- Historical Statistics of the United States
Quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history
- Michigana: Sources in U.S. History Online
This digital archive documents state history and provides access to documents such as personal narratives, memoirs, pamphlets, political speeches, sermons, songs, legal treatises, and children’s books.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. In many cases, issues from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher restrictions.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible well into the future. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of more than fifty partner institutions in digital form.