Research Guides: History: Research Collections

Contact the CMU Libraries

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Schedule a Consultation

Collections

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
"From 1936 to 1938, over 2,300 former slaves from across the American South were interviewed by writers and journalists under the aegis of the Works Progress Administration. These former slaves, most born in the last years of the slave regime or during the Civil War, provided first-hand accounts of their experiences on plantations, in cities, and on small farms. Their narratives remain a peerless resource for understanding the lives of America's four million slaves. What makes the WPA narratives so rich is that they capture the very voices of American slavery, revealing the texture of life as it was experienced and remembered."
Women's Studies Archives (Gale)
Rare Titles from the American Antiquarian Society, 1820-1922.
more...less...
Women-authored works, female writing, focusing on American female experience in 19-20th centuries. Over 1 million pages provide women's perspective on history. An essential resource for researchers who desire to undertake in-depth analysis of women's authorship.

CMU Historical Documents This link opens in a new window
Documents by and about Central Michigan University including Board of Trustee minutes, Bulletins, CMU yearbooks, Centralight, CM Life, and more. This database has been created and is maintained by the CMU Libraries.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
This digital archive includes: 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality & Gender, Eighteenth Century collections online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Times Digital archive, TLS Historical archive and Women's studies archive.
Gilded Age, The This link opens in a new window
Spanning from 1865 to 1902, The Gilded Age provides insight into the key issues that shaped America in the late nineteenth century, including race and ethnicity, immigration, labor, women's rights, American Indians, political corruption, and monetary policy.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible well into the future. The HathiTrust Digital Library includes millions of digitized book titles, most of which were published before 1923.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains 1.5 million pages, including more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections. Explores all facets of the controversy with a focus on economic, gender, legal, religious and government issues.