Research Guides: ENG 338B: The Contemporary British Novel: Find Articles

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Text (989) 863-4639
	Schedule a Consultation

Library Tutorials

Finding Articles

Scholarly Sources
Reference Sources

The following databases are focus on literary criticism. For more databases, check out the Databases by Subject page.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles, and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains more than 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A database of humanities and social science content. Offers complete, full-text versions of more than 700 scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies and more than 60,000 books from more than 100 publishers.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Biographical information and critical essays on novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and others. Includes the contents of Children’s Literature Review (CLR), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 (LC), Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism (NCLC), and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC).

Biographies

Additional biography resources can be found on the Biographies Research Guide.

Biography (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Biographical and critical information on authors and their works.

General Reference

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other specialized reference resources on a wide range of topics. A great place for topic overviews.
Literary Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This rich full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.

Below are some tips and tricks for searching in the libraries' databases. Each database has unique features, but these will work in most databases (but NOT Smart Search).

Enclose the title of the work in quotation marks. This lets the database know you want those words to appear in that exact order.
- "From Russia with Love"
- "The Lonely Londoners"
If you want to begin with a very broad search just include the title and author's name. This will probably give you books and articles that address many different aspects of the work.
- "Oranges are Not the Only Fruit" Winterson
- "Last Orders" Graham Swift
To focus your search, add additional keywords related to your topic:
- Character Names
- Themes: friendship, masculinity, class
- Movements,Techniques, or Critical Lenses: realism, feminism, semiotics, allegory, postcolonial

Guide Owner

Aparna Zambare

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

214 Park Library

(989) 774 6427

Subjects: Biographies, Children's Literature, English Language & Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Theatre & Dance, Women and Gender Studies