Research Guides: FMD/WGS 280: Finding Sources

Campus Resources

Office of LGBTQ+ Studies Book Collection
Did you know CMU's Office of LGBTQ+ Studies has a book collection? Stop by Bovee University Center 108B to check out the collection today!

Recommended Websites

Wearing Gay History
Wearing Gay History is home to the digitized t-shirt collections of numerous lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender archives across the United States.
Making Gay History
The Making Gay History podcast mines Eric Marcus’s decades old audio archive of rare interviews — conducted for his award-winning oral history of the LGBTQ civil rights movement — to create intimate, personal portraits of both known and long-forgotten champions, heroes, and witnesses to history.
Autostraddle Queer Fashion Writing
Provides links to 22 articles on queer identity and fashion from a variety of publications.

Chat with Us!

Articles and more

Below are some suggested databases to search to find articles on topics related to queer fashion. Remember that these databases index more than just articles, including books, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc., that can be good sources, as well.

As you explore and evaluate sources, take note of "subjects" and other terminology used in describing your topic. These can help you figure out the appropriate keywords as your topic develops.

**In addition to these suggested databases, consider exploring the Databases by Subject page for other databases that might relate to your particular topic. If you still need help, please feel free to contact the librarian for assistance!

Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale)
With material dating back to the sixteenth century, the Archives includes resources on how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements, and activism.
Berg Fashion Library
Contains the entire Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion as well as an e-book collection, articles, images, and other reference sources on fashion around the world and throughout history.
GenderWatch (ProQuest)
A database devoted to coverage of women's and gender issues.
JSTOR
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest)
ProQuest Central provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.
Scopus
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies
Web of Science
The premier research platform to find and analyze scholarly research literature on Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.