Research Guides: HST 215: The American Civil War (Dr. Cassidy): Newspaper Articles and Primary Sources in CMU Databases

Online CMU Historic Newspaper and Periodical Databases

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940 This link opens in a new window
Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, including 118 periodicals published during the Civil War.
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Searchable index to the contents of Harper's Weekly magazine, beginning in 1857.
New York Times, 1851-2020 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Search the complete text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2017 for PDF images of original articles which include photographs and drawings
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains 1.5 million pages, including more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections. Explores all facets of the controversy with a focus on economic, gender, legal, religious and government issues.
History Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
North American Women's Letter and Diaries This link opens in a new window
You may access letters dealing with the American Civil War by clicking on the Historical Events icon under Browses, and then selecting "U.S. Civil War, 1861-1865." Note that there is a "+" mark to the left of the title of that section--clicking on that "+" mark will open a drop-down menu that will allow you access to a number of events specific to the Civil War if you wish to target your research.