Research Guides: MGT 495: Global Management Strategy: Company Information &amp; Profiles

Public Companies

Tickers symbols are a great way to search for firm information. Use your firm’s ticker symbol to locate firm-specific content.

Tickers symbols for Term Project Firms:

Apple = AAPL

Amazon = AMZN

Best Buy = BBY

Exxon Mobile = XOM

Ford = F

General Electric = GE

Netflix = NFLX

Starbucks = SBUX

Tesla = TSLA

Walmart = WMT

Detailed Company Profiles

Public

MergentOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 10,000 national and international public companies. Includes business profiles, stock & bond information, financial statements, annual reports, SEC filings, competitors and executive/officer information
Nexis Dossier (Formerly: Corporate Affiliations) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dossier allows you full access to Financial Overviews of over 240M companies, worldwide.
International Directory of Company Histories (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides histories of prominent companies in a particular industry or geographic location.
Directory Library (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry and organizational directories. Includes: Gale directory of publications and broadcast media, Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S., Research centers directory and Statistics Sources.

Stock Symbols & Company Searches

Use your firm's ticker symbol to search for information on your public company. Links are provided to Bloomberg, Market Watch and Yahoo Finance, which are reputable places to begin your search.

Company Search
Bloomberg Businessweek
Market Watch
The Wall Street Journal
Yahoo! Finance
Yahoo! Inc.

Company Websites

Often you can find financial data (including annual reports) online on the company website. However, it's not usually found on the public-facing web page, which is usually intended for sales. Search for your company's website and see if you find a link that says something like Inc., Investors or Investor Relations, Company Information, or Corporate Information.