Open Educational Resources: Social Sciences

• #GoPen Michigan Connect with educators from across Michigan to share ideas, learn how to incorporate OER into teaching and learning
• Directory of Open Access Books was established by the OAPEN Foundation in 2012 provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books
• MERLOT A peer reviewed collection teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services.
• Milne Open Textbooks Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
• OASIS Public Domain Books
• OER Commons a single search source that pulls OER resources from a variety of existing collections.
• Open Social Work for Social work Education
• Saylor Book Shelf Free textbooks that can be downloaded as PDFs.
• Teaching commons brings together OER that have been curated by librarians at colleges and universities throughout the US.
• AIM (Math) by American Institute of mathematics http://aimath.org/textbooks/approved-textbooks/
• Open Textbooks for Open Education Lists by subject of college level open access texts for Mathematics and Physics.

• GALILEO Open Learning Materials Open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials. Most works have a Creative Commons license, allowing the reuse, redistribution, remix, and revision of these materials.
• LibreTexts by LibreNet is a consortium of educators, its membership is open to all institutions from the K-12 space and higher education.
• Mason OER Metafinder by George Mason University Libraries
• MIT OpenCourseWare is a free and open collection of material from thousands of MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum.
• The Ohio State University Press: Open Access Initiative Complete text of numerous titles available in PDF--mostly literary and other humanities topics.
• OpenStax is part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corporation, publish high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
• OPEL - Open Paths to Enriched Learning University of Chicago Press
• Open Textbook Library licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. he Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network at University of Minnesota
• Open Textbook Publishing OER at MSU Libraries
• PDXScholar the campus repository for PSU, includes over 33,000 PSU-produced articles, presentations, videos, post-prints, and other works that have been downloaded over 13 million times.
• Open Education Resources Resources for finding open and sustainable teaching and learning materials by Humboldt State University.
• Textbook Collection @ University of Southern Florida Faculty at USF have published some open access texts on their library's Digital Commons repository.

• Open Book Publishers UK publishing imprint that provides free online access and low cost formatted and print access to titles with a special emphasis on humanities, digital humanities, and social sciences.
• Pressbooks Directory a free, searchable catalog that includes 6,505 open access books published by 174 organizations and networks using Pressbooks.
• Springer Open Access Books
• IntechOpen
• OpenTextBookStore .com

• B.C Open Collection by BCcampus that it is a Canadian government agency that works with post-secondary institutions to help adapt teaching and learning practices to best serve students.
• Open Textbooks Pilot Program by U.S. Department of Education. This pilot program emphasizes the development of projects that demonstrate the greatest potential to achieve the highest level of savings for students through sustainable, expanded use of open textbooks in high-enrollment courses or in programs that prepare individuals for in-demand fields.

• American Government (OpenStax) An open textbook designed to meet the requirements of an introductory American government course.
• American Government and Politics in the Information Age An open textbook from the University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library.
• Ethics in Law Enforcement Open Textbooks Examines the moral and ethical issues that exist within law enforcement.
• Instruction in Functional Assessment Open Textbooks

  Introduces learners to functional assessment (FA), which includes a variety of assessment approaches (indirect, observational, and experimental) for identifying the cause of an individual’s challenging behavior for the purpose of designing effective treatments.
• Introduction to Criminal Investigation: Processes, Practices and Thinking
• Introduction to Sociology 2e (OpenStax) An open textbook designed to meet the requirements of a single-semester introduction to Sociology course.

• Cambridge Core At Cambridge University Press, Open Access are accepted in more than 350 of our journals, open access 345 books.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) open access books from hundreds of publishers.
• OAPEN (.org) Full text collection of openly available books in the humanities and social sciences.
• Google Scholar

• World Bank Open Data Free and open access to global development data
• Open Government Data.gov is U.S. federal government's open data site
• Michigan's Open Data Portal View and analyze data provided by a variety of Michigan state agencies
• Detroit's Open Data Portal (.gov) initiative in order to increase public access to valuable data and information concerning City government operations and service delivery.
• Global Open Data Index (.org) Tracking the state of open government data ... Compare countries Ranked table and map views of participating countries.
• Open Data on AWS Amazon.com find datasets made publicly available through AWS services.
• Open Michigan University of Michigan Deep Blue Data: openly available data developed and used in support of research at the University of Michigan.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations Open access to graduate theses and dissertations published around the world from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.