*English Language and Literature: Main Guide: Web Resources

Sponsored by the Academy of American Poets, a non-profit organization, this site maintains one of the liveliest and most comprehensive poetry sites to foster the appreciation of contemporary American poetry.

Brown University's Center for Digital Scholarship (CDS) supports, designs, and carries out student and faculty research across disciplines on the cmpus. CDS originated as the Scholarly Technology Group in Computing and Information Services in 1994 and moved into the Library in 2010.

Center for Electronic Texts in the Humanities or CETH, a unit of Rutgers University, that maintains a very useful directory of major electronic text centers in the United States as well as a few such centers outside the United States and provides access to their own humanities e-text projects.

This site has been prepared by Professor George P. Landow, Brown University. It contains 7,000 documents and images on the topics of cyberspace, hypertext, virtual reality, and critical theory.

Dickinson Electronic Archives (DEA) is a website devoted to the study of Emily Dickinson, her writing practices, writings directly influencing her work, and critical and creative writings generated by her work.

This is an excellent resource prepared by Virginia University’s E-Text Center that provides access to the English poetry database, the English verse drama database, English prose drama, early English prose fiction, early American fiction, the American poetry database, and the African American poetry database.

Provided by Folger Shakespeare Library, Folger Digital Texts offer meticulously edited, accurate texts in a readable format with the added power of in-depth, behind-the-scenes coding. The texts—including full source code—can also be downloaded at no charge for noncommercial use.

Hamlet on the Ramparts is designed and maintained by the MIT’s Shakespeare Electronic Archive in collaboration with the Folger Shakespeare Library and other institutions. Their aim is to provide free access to an evolving collection of texts, images, and film relevant to Hamlet, especially his first encounter with the Ghost. The main site provides restricted access but Hamlet on the Ramparts is open to public access.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

The Humanities Text Initiative, a unit of the University of Michigan's Digital Library Production Service, provides online access to full text resources since 1994. The unit is also responsible for the creation, delivery, and maintenance of electronic texts, as well as a mechanism for furthering the library community’s capabilities in the area of online text.

Now merged with the Intute: Arts and Humanities site, the Humbul Humanities Hub is a service of the Resource Discovery Network funded by the Joint Information Systems Committee and the Arts and Humanities Research Board, and is hosted by the University of Oxford. It aims at providing online access to humanities resources.

The official homepage of the International Literacy Association which is set up to promote and advance the quality of literacy instruction and research worldwide.

Maintained by the National Council of Teachers of English, a nonprofit organization devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education, this Web site provides information on upcoming events and opportunities with NCTE, as well as resources for educators.

The Oxford Text Archive, Oxford University, hosts AHDS Literature, Languages and Linguistics. The OTA works closely with members of the Arts and Humanities academic community to collect, catalogue, and preserve high-quality electronic texts for research and teaching.

Created by the National Endowment for the Arts and the Poetry Foundation, Poetry Out Loud is administered in partnership with the State Arts Agencies of all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico.

The Postcolonial Studies website (PS) is a project in progress at the English Department at Emory University. Its aim is to provide sources on major topics and issues in Postcolonial Studies.

This is a thoroughly hypertexted version of Jane Austen’s most popular novel, Pride and Prejudice.

Provides free access to more than 33,000 (primarily older public domain) books which can be downloaded in a variety of formats including ePub, Kindle, HTML and plain text.

Part of The Academy of American Poets site, this page is devoted to Robert Frost, one of the greatest American poets. It includes a short biography of the poet, his selected poems, and links to some external sites.

Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. It is the collaborative product of an ever-expanding community of editors, contributors, and users around the world, overseen by a distinguished Advisory Board.

The SFRA Review offers open access to its volumes published since 2001. For the Association's site, go to: http://www.sfra.org.

A re-creation of the Theatre of Pompey in virtual reality. Created by King's College, London, the project offers fascinating 3D visualizations of the vast theatre of Pompey in Rome, along with history of of the Theatre.

This is the official site of the Toni Morrison Society. Hosted by Georgia State University, the purpose of the site is to provide information on the society’s activities which aims to study the life and works of Toni Morrison.

Hosted by the University of New Brunswick, Canada, the Centre provides consultation, collaboration, and services to enhance research and scholarly activities at UNB, including digital publication, imaging, curation, preservation, dissemination, instruction, and more.

Designed by Professor George P. Landow, this hypertext project is devoted to resources in Victorian literature and thought.

The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) is created and maintained by Indiana University and is primarily a collection representing poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more written by lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century.

Maintained by the University of California, Santa Barbara, Voice of the Shuttle is a site which models the way the humanities are organized for research and teaching as well as the way they are adapting to social, cultural, and technological changes. This is perhaps the most comprehensive database of the humanities resources on the web.

The Walt Whitman Archive is an electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman’s vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers.

The Willa Cather Archive is an ambitious endeavor to create a rich, useful, and widely-accessible site for the study of Willa Cather's life and writings.

A hypermedia archive sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the Preservation and Access Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities at the University of Virginia, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Sun Microsystems and Inso Corporation.

The Brown University Women Writers Project is a research project devoted to early modern women's writing and electronic text encoding. Its goal is to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience of teachers, students, scholars, and the general reader. The WWP support research on women's writing, text encoding, and the role of electronic texts in teaching and scholarship.

The Humanities Think Tank is meant to serve as a clearing house of information, and space for debate, about the future of the humanities.

Published by Harvard University Press.