*English Language and Literature: Main Guide: Article Databases

ndexes books, articles, and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

A non–profit service that archives over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content.

Project MUSE provides full text, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.

Provides criticism on the most popular and influential authors of the genre from Louisa May Alcott to Judy Blume.

An acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,400,000 MARC records and more than 300,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources.

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set printed in the United Kingdom and the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera on the subjects of history, fine arts, literature, language, religion, philosophy, and law. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare.

Once you are on the EBSCO page, select the Play Index database. This resource will help you find the play you are looking for. You can also find plays with your specific requirements, for example, a play with two male characters.